Finally Getting Fit

Hold the MSG

Posted on: February 8, 2014

I’ve introduced a couple things back in to the maw since I ended the Whole30.

I added the bit of cheese back in the other night and didn’t notice any ill effects.  Of course it wasn’t much and I only did it the once but still, no ill effects.

Yesterday at work I had a bit of cheap chocolate.   It was if I had stepping into that blue phone booth. I was instantly transported back to my childhood. The sweet, the melty, the slightly bitter flavor… it was nice.  It was not something I want a lot of though.  Honestly, it scares me a bit to become dependent on the sweet.

Then last night we had Chinese take-out for dinner.  I had my usual coconut shrimp, no breading… but I didn’t tell them no MSG.  Now, I don’t know that coconut shrimp is a dish that gets loaded with MSG or not. I suspect it’s added when the shrimp are stir-fried.

About an hour and half after eating I felt a ballooning pressure in the back of my head.  Hmmmm. Well, that’s no usual. I’m chalking it up to MSG.

I also woke up with bloated hands and tingly feet.  Something that hasn’t happened since into the whole30.  There is something there that my body does not like.

This batch of shrimp didn’t have a lot of creamy sauce like the other times I’ve had it.  I went searching to find a recipe for it.  It seems from what I can find on Sir Google the restaurants make it with coconut milk, mayo, and sugar.   This is going to be a problem for me.  I don’t want their mass produced soy laden mayo and I don’t want their sugar.   I found recipes that call for coconut milk or coconut cream, condensed milk or heavy cream, amaretto, and sugar.   This just looks too easy and since I always have coconut milk in the cabinet I bet I can make this.  Bonus, if I make it I can control the sugar and make sure it has NO MSG.

No food pics today.  So sorry.  But here’s one of my cat.  He’s such a snuggler and a pester head.  Always getting into thing.

Dart. He camouflages into my walls and my kitchen floor.

 

 

1 Response to "Hold the MSG"

You should have turned it back . That MSG is toxic.

Leave a Reply

