Finally Getting Fit

Whole30- Day 15

Posted on: January 21, 2014

Winning: I’m sleeping better. I have less pain. (Makes couple time much more fun!) I have more energy. Did I mention I’m sleeping?  Actually sleeping? Not just tossing and turning.  My knees don’t hurt as much.  I don’t have to be afraid of the stairs in my house any more.

Losing: My god the cravings!  Why are they here? I do not really want all the candy and the soy filled chocolate and the cakes and the pie.  I really don’t.   I didn’t want them much before I started the whole30 so why the hell am I wanting them so bad now?  I do love me some sugar filled candy. Jelly Belly beans are my favorite.  I had limited my chocolate to maybe once per month after I discovered it all has soy.  The cakes and pie I gave up long ago when I started a wheat free diet.  I won’t say I was perfect because I did cave every now and again and have something from that list.  I paid the price too.

Day 15 was going great until I stepped into Target. They have the forbidden foods. Big mistake. I grabbed a coconut water to satisfy my taste buds and ran out of the store.

Breakfast today was 1 piece of pork sausage.  I bought plain ground pork and added my own seasoning.   I paired it with my giant mug of coconut milk coffee.

Lunch was wonderful and I apologize for not getting a photo.  Crock pot short ribs accompanied by roasted brussels sprouts and roasted root veggies.   Roasting these veggies is really the only way I can eat some of the veggies.  Takes the bitterness right out.

I’ve had a rutabaga and acorn squash sitting on my counter for about two weeks and finally chopped them up.  Coated them with coconut oil, salt and pepper and popped them in oven for 60 minutes.  I stirred them around every 2o minutes.  They were fork tender when they came out and delicious.

Coach was out of school today (MLK day) and cooked a beautiful pan of Baked Mustard Lime Chicken.  It is so delicious!  I need to thank everyone from the bottom of my cold shriveled heart for putting your recipes on the internet.  I could never come up with stuff like this on my own.

Here we have the chicken, half a baked sweet potato with ghee and cinnamon, a diced avocado w/salso.

I originally topped my sweet potato with McCormick’s pumpkin pie spice.  Then I read the ingredients.  “sulfiting agents”  WTH.  I just wasted half a baked sweet potato because someone doesn’t want their pumpkin pie spice to clump?  Y’all need to do what my momma use to do and take a damn spoon handle to that bitch and break up the clumps.  Yeah. I was MAD.

But you know I got over it.  I still had the other half of the potato so I just traded out the with Coach.

Also, if you are new to the whole30 read your salsa labels very carefully. A lot of them have sugar and MSG.

I have to say I’m not sure if I like the taste of the ghee.  It’s Ziyad brand that my local Kroger carries.  It’s very waxy and taste different… I don’t know, just different. Like wax mixed with something…

What brand ghee do you use and did you have to acquire the taste for it or was it something you liked right off the bat?

2 Responses to "Whole30- Day 15"

I’m not sure what Whole30 is, but it is very easy to make your own salsa at home. Tons of recipes out there!

I found this for pumpkin pie spice (http://www.food.com/recipe/substitution-for-pumpkin-pie-spice-107059)

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (scant)

Mix together, put in a shaker. I might make up some of this for my morning oatmeal!

I bet it’s delicious in oatmeal.

There’s a button in the sidebar that will take you to the Whole30 website if your interested. It’s a basic whole food system reset/healing nutrition plan offered by the health gurus of Whole9

Leave a Reply

