Finally Getting Fit

30 Days to Healthier?

Posted on: December 29, 2013

I’m thinking about doing this Whole30 challenge thing.

It scares me.  It’s not that it’s so restrictive.  I’ve restricted my diet pretty heavy  somewhat for the last year or so.  Although this weekend I have to say I fell on the tracks.  Candy sour balls. 1 slice of pizza. 1 slice of cake.  My knees are telling the tale, too.  Don’t think I’m not paying for this.  It’s the whole no dairy bit and no sweetners bit.

To be honest, just last week I was telling someone I think I’ll eliminate dairy to see if some muscle soreness doesn’t ease up.  It’s not much but I think it’s more than I should have considering the amount of movement that I do.  It’s more than I had before i started throwing half & half and heavy cream into my many cups of coffee every morning.

Then there’s the sweeteners.  I KNOW it’s bad for me.  I know! I am a diet coke addict.  I had already planned to cut back to about 1/day. Maybe about 20 ounces tops. But that was more for money saving effect than anything else.  And I use sugar-free flavor in my coffee every morning.  In fact, Coach gave me a CASE of flavored syrups for Christmas.  Can I really let them sit for a month?

The Whole30 is an all or nothing venture.  it’s like lookingat guaranteed failure.  What will that do to my fragile ego?

So why do I want to do this?  Because of this: “Cut out all the psychologically unhealthy, hormone-unbalancing, gut-disrupting, inflammatory food groups for a full 30 days. Let your body heal and recover from whatever effects those foods may be causing. Push the “reset” button with your metabolism, systemic inflammation, and the downstream effects of the food choices you’ve been making. Learn once and for all how the foods you’ve been eating are actually affecting your day to day life, and your long term health.

When there are aches and pains every day it gets old and I just want to let them go. Am I willing to give up dairy (milk & cheese) and my diet coke for a tiny 30 days to see if there’s a difference?

Have you?  Please let me know if you tried it.  Did you succeed? Fail? Try again?  How was it?

Tags:

1 Response to "30 Days to Healthier?"

Hey there! I am about to finish a whole30 (a 5 month birthday challenge I am doing for myself) and I gotta say.. just do it! It will seriously change your life, it definitely changed mine for the better, and trust me.. I really wasn’t sure about it (it is so strict!) but you won’t regret it.

I definitely recommend buying and reading It Starts With Food (the whole30 book)

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

