Finally Getting Fit

Peroneus Brevis

Posted on: October 17, 2012

Sounds like a foreign film doesn’t it? It’s not though. It’s a tendon that runs along the outside of the ankle.

Mine is split.

Not bad enough to need surgery but bad enough I can’t run anymore.  Probably ever.

This makes me incredibly sad.

I enjoyed running. I’m gonna miss it tremendously.

Doc said it could take months to heal. Not weeks. Months.

It seems that I am a supinator. I need to get new shoes to help correct that. It seems that that put excess stress on the peroneus brevis and the peroneus longus.  Then the few times that I turned my ankle was the proverbial straw on the camel’s back.

According to what I’ve read the peroneus tendons are there to keep the ankle from turning out.  When you strain the ankle out the tendons tighten up to try to bring the ankle and foot back into the correct position.  If the ankle turns too far out the longus can actually cut into the brevis creating a vertical tear or split.

This is what I have.

I get to continue to wear an air cast until I get new shoes.  Then I have a lace up brace that I’m supposed to wear.  I can still belly dance but i can’t clog or run for while.

Surgical repair, stitching the split together: There is only a 20-30% chance that it would fix the problem anyway.

Cortisone shots into the tendon: Oh hell no.  But it’s an option if the pain and swelling gets to be more than I can stand.

Surgical repair, cutting off and removing the part that is split off:  Only if I ever get to the point that I can’t walk on it.

Lace-up brace: I get to wear this any time I dance or don’t wear the air cast.

My life is so full of awesome. Don’t be jealous. </sarcasm>

 

 

Leave a Reply

