Finally Getting Fit

Pants on the Ground

Posted on: September 3, 2012

More precisely… skirt in the street.

I have been a size XL, 16-18 for a while.  But I have this bad habit of buying clothes that’s maybe a size too small thinking they make me look thinner or that they’ll loosen up in a month or so.   You know those pants you buy but you had to suck in your gut a bit to get them buttoned and zipped?

I went shopping for a new skirt last weekend. I love the knit pencil skirts that are every where for fall.

So of course I picked up the XL, tried it on and it fit.  It was snug, it didn’t bind, it sat right on my hips.  Then I went out looking for a blouse.

The whole time I’m in the store I have an internal debate going on in my head about the fit. Should I try on the L?  Nah, it’ll be too snug and pull too much across my lower belly an nothing looks worse than a fat chick in a tight skirt.  I’ll just keep this one.  It wasn’t really LOOSE, it just wasn’t TIGHT.

So I pay, go home and wait for time to get dressed to go out.

I think I’m looking pretty hot. I go pick up my BFF and we head to downtown.  We are getting ready for our last burlesque show of the year and it’s time to mingle and publicize and hang out with our adoring fans (snort)

We get Princess Parking right in front of one of the most popular clubs on the most popular street!  Probably because it was still early and most people were still inside enjoying opening day of college football.

I get out of the car and walk around to her side saying “Okay, tell me what you think about tonight’s ensemble?”  Strike and pose… and that’s when it happened.

Right there in downtown, next to the street, in front of God and every one… my skirt hit the ground.

That’s right ladies and gents. My skirt slid right down over my hips and landed in a puddle at my ankles.

Thank goodness I had worn black opaque tights under it.

I had to go to a nearby store and buy safety pins and pin it to the tights to keep it up.  I couldn’t walk 10 steps with it falling down.

And while I’m glad I can hang out in a smaller size now I wish I found out by having my skirt drop.

So tell me… have you had anything like this happen to you on your weight loss journey.

Spill it below in the comments 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

