Finally Getting Fit

Not Dead

Posted on: August 19, 2012

Just a quickie to say “I’m not dead.”

My fitness efforts are not dead.

Just very very busy.

I’ve been busy busy over the summer helping my BF get her dance studio ready for the fall session. We stripped the floors and then painted them, sprinkled them with glitter, and added a thousand coats of varnish.

We finished just in time for the burlesque show and workshop.

Yep…. burlesque.

It’s amazing how good you can feel about your self when you waltz out onto a stage, toss off a wrap and people cheer like crazy because they can see your shoulders.  Or you strip off a glove off finger by finger and they go nuts when you wave your naked hand around.  But it’s crazy serious business. Practicing dance steps in platform stilletos, helping to secure sponsorship for the show, costume fittings, cleaning the venue, setting up and decorating, performance meetings and rehearsals.  It’s exhausting.

But you want to know something amazing?  You don’t have to show your lady parts.  People love you because you are brave enough to get up there.  They love you just for being a tease even when you don’t take everything off.  And I’m not talking about going down to pasties and a g-string.  I’m talking about going from a long formal gown to a mini-dress.  It’s the most insane, amazing, thing I’ve ever done.  They love the anticipation. It’s like going up that first big hill on the roller coaster before the big drop.  I’ve never gotten that kind of crowd reaction before. I’ve only seen it a few times and mostly at football games 🙂

I’ve also been getting prepped to teach two belly dance classes. Yes, I am a glutton for punishment and I love every minute of it.

I’ve not been running. I’m still having ankle and foot pain. I do have an appointment with an ortho to find out what the problem is, so that is something.  As long as he tells me I don’t have to stop dancing I’ll be okay.
I have discovered that wheat is the source of most of my joint/knee pain.  I made the mistake the last few weeks of letting wheat products slip into my diet. A little bit this day, a bun on that day, a coated & fried something or another on the next day… By the fifth day I could barely walk.  Back to the medicine cabinet and two days wheat free again I have no pain.

It just seems the most bizarre thing ever. I don’t understand it. I don’t have to. I just have to remember how OLD and decrepit I felt not being able to walk up and down the steps or even drive without my knees feeling like they were going to lock up on me.

I’ll try to be a better blogger and throw in a post more than once/month.

bwahahahahahaha.

I’ve said that before 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

