Finally Getting Fit

Vacation Blues

Posted on: July 6, 2012

Have you ever had vacation blues?

I’m not talking about when the vacation is so fabulous that you don’t want it to end.  I’m talking about when you’ve eaten so much crap and junk that you feel as bloated as Shamu and are wondering just what the hell you have done to yourself. They go something like this:

The food was so good: ba-doo ba-doo

I couldn’t resist: ba-doo ba-doo

I ate it all up: ba-d00 ba-doo

It was sweet as a kiss: ba-doo ba-doo

But now I feel bad: ba-doo ba-doo

I am just so sad: ba-doo ba-doo

What else can I do?: ba-doo ba-doo

I didn’t listen to you!

We just come back from a family vacation with the family and I have to say I don’t think I’ve done too bad. You can see my flickr set here.

We arrived at the lake late on Friday. On Saturday I went to local MegaMart and bought a ton of fruits, veggies, hummus, quac, some meat, eggs, and then some food that the kids will eat.  (They are both in their 20’s but I swear they eat like toddlers.)  On Saturday night the brother and sister-in-law joined us.  We bought more meat, and they contributed great piles of junk food.  We did get good Angus beef burgers and Nathan’s hot dogs.

On Monday we packed up and headed to my Momma’s house.  This is where I knew I was in trouble. I had told her that I had given up wheat and to please don’t worry about cooking a lot that I was mostly eating grilled meats and raw veggies. But being Momma she just had to cook.

A great big pot of chicken and dumplings. How much wheat is in the dumplings? All of it.   I did eat them. Yes, I did. Not as much as I would have 6 months ago but she went to a lot of trouble to cook those and I love them so I ate them at lunch.  Her dumplings are thick homemade noodles.  She mixes and rolls them out by hand, cuts them in strips and then freezes them. I had a conversation with the Coach a few months ago about foods that would take me off the no-wheat diet. Momma’s dumplings topped that list.

The other 3 days was full of fresh fruit, right off the bush blueberries, figs, and watermelon. Fresh tomatoes, and grilled meats.  The one thing I didn’t do was exercise. We did a little swimming, a tiny bit of walking but not a whole lot else. It was a whole lot of sitting around and just enjoying the quiet.

All in all though I think I did okay.  I haven’t jumped on the scale yet but I did measure my waistline and it’s about the same. So I came back only slightly bloated, something that a couple of clean days of eating and lots of water have taken care.

I am not singing the Vacation Blues this time.

How about you?  Are you planning to avoid the Vacation Blues or will you just go all out and right your lyrics on the drive home?

Leave a Reply

