Finally Getting Fit

The tortoise won the race. Right?

Posted on: June 24, 2012

It’s been six weeks since I eliminated wheat from my diet.  I’m pretty sure some has snuck in here and there but I can tell you right now it was not intentional.    Like the day after we had dinner catered at work.  The entree that I thought was safe was beef tips and rice.   The next day I could barely walk I hurt so bad. Joint pain. I popped a celebrex that day and the next.  I’ve kept my diet super clean since then and haven’t taken one since!

Here’s a little update on my measurements.

Date

Waist

Abd- below the navel

Hips

Waist:Hip Ratio

Abd:Hip Ratio

Weight

May 13, 2012

40

45

45

0.89

1.00

188

June 24, 1012

36.5

42.75

43.75

.85

.98

184

To say I am pleased would be a gross understatement.

Would I like to for those numbers to be going down faster?  Yes

But it’s just been too easy.

If you haven’t read Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis I will encourage you to give it a try. (Link to Amazon, I am not an Amazon affiliate)  I will say it’s not necessarily an easy read. There is a lot of science in this book. But he makes it interesting and there is a ring of truth in this book that I haven’t felt in a lot of others.  Add my own experiences to that and I can tell you that it is worth giving up that dinner roll and honey bun!

>no more reflux/heartburn

>no more unexpected diarrhea

>a near elimination of my arthritis meds

>some weight loss/shrinkage

I’m sure those numbers would go faster if I didn’t love those lemon-pepper wings and froyo so much 🙂

But that’s best left for a whole ‘nuther day.

 

2 Responses to "The tortoise won the race. Right?"

It Starts With Food by the creators of the Whole30 program (Whole9) is a great book that breaks the “scienc-y stuff” down into things we can all understand. I’m reading it right now (about halfway through) in preparation for my first Whole30 starting July 9. I highly recommend this book too! I haven’t read Wheat Belly yet (but have browsed the blog). I might just have to pick that one up when I am done with ISWF! 🙂 Great job on the inches, btw!!!!

not a fast progression..but yet its a progression !;) Great!

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

