Finally Getting Fit

Dinner Up Date

Posted on: June 8, 2012

So last night’s buffet dinner wasn’t as bad as I thought.

It did help that we have 4 families that are vegan/vegetarian.

There was the ubiquitous green salad. It was set up like a salad bar but without everything sitting in ice.  It was quite easy to steer clear of the croutons.

Next up was a pan of roasted veggies: cauliflower, carrots, broccoli, something purple.  It was very colorful and quite tasty.

Then a pan of roasted or sauteed green beans.  These were perfection. Too many times I’ve had green beans so over-cooked they were just mush or so under-cooked that they tasted like grass.

Following that was a pan of au gratin potatoes. Uh oh.  Were they made the old Southern way with flour as a thickener.  When I saw the chef walk out I decided that (hoped that) they were more gourmet and made with tons of cheese and no flour. I took my chances.

We had two meat courses: Fried chicken (of course!) and a thin sliced roast beef with a white sauce.  Maybe it was a wine sauce… I’m not sure. I tried to get slices that didn’t have a lot of the sauce… just in case.

Desserts were a brownie trifle and cheesecake.

I opted for the brownie trifle.  All the brownie/cake bits were deep in the bottom topped with a creamy smooth chocolate mousse, topped with a thick layer of whipped cream and garnished with chocolate shavings.

It was beautiful and delicious.

But somewhere along the way I was led astray.  I think it was the potatoes.

I woke up with belly cramps and was nauseous and feeling hung-over even though the only thing I drank was water and sweet tea.  The feeling lasted a good  3-4 hours.

Lunch today was Olive Garden. We catered an appreciation lunch for the physicians.

I ate a Peanut Butter cookie larabar (Dates, peanuts, salt) and a serving of raw nuts.

I did have the opportunity to try to some dehydrated okra. It was wonderful and tasted just like good crispy fried Southern cornmeal coated okra.  I’m going to try to make my own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

