Finally Getting Fit

The Head Scratching Post

Posted on: May 23, 2012

Okay that title makes me chuckle.

I spent my childhood on a farm watching cows rub back and forth on trees and fence post to scratch an itch. Sometimes they would even lower their heads and scratch their heads and foreheads.

This is not that kind of head scratching post. 🙂

I thought I would try to some find some wheat free blogs to read.

There seems to be crap loads of gluten-free blogs out there but I’m not really interested in gluten-free information.

The blogs I can find are full of recipes for gluten-free muffins, gluten-free waffles, gluten-free this and that.

Again, I’m not interested in gluten-free.

But what makes me ponder and scratch my head is this: Are the people are going wheat-free so addicted to bread that they really can’t live without it?

I’ve been at this all of 10 days but I can honestly say I don’t miss bread.  I miss my ranch dressing but have known for a while that I would have to give that up.

Yes, I’ve wanted a cookie or two in the last 10 days but I haven’t resorted to making them out of starch and “fake” flour.

When I get ready for a cookie I have found a couple of recipes that use almond flour and coconut flour that I’m going to try.  Those are much better than the corn starch/tapioca flour/quinoa flour.  Those grains have the same blood sugar effects as wheat.

What I would like are alternatives to snacks that are not bread related in any way.

Veggie dips that do not contain starches.

Low glycemic snacks.

Something to satisfy my sweet tooth that isn’t going to send my blood sugars spiking.

Are there any blogs out there that can give me that?

Leave a Reply

