Finally Getting Fit

Shrinking Waist

Posted on: May 19, 2012

I’ve been wheat free for 6 days.

No honey bun.

No cookies.

No chocolate cake.

Lots of veggies.

Baked potatoes.

No crackers.

No peanut butter sandwiches.

Grilled meats.

I’ve lost about 2 inches in my waist. There is a visible difference.  I don’t know about the scale. I didn’t get it on before I started this.

I’m doing this for my health. Not my weight.

I got worried after reading this article about how waist to hip ratio is linked to sudden cardiac death.  I carry a lot of fat around my belly.

Soon after I came across an article in a Woman’s World magazine about the Wheat Belly diet.

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health by Dr. William Davis isn’t really a diet book.  It’s a science book describing exactly what happens in our bodies when we eat food with a high glycemic index.  You wanna guess which food has the highest glycemic index?  Higher than table sugar?  Higher than a snickers bar?

Wheat!

It’s crazy how so many medical/health organizations recommend that we eat so much of this stuff when what it does to the body is so horrible.  I just don’t understand.

I don’t think eating wheat free is going to be a cure all. But I’m not ready to take any changes.  Old age is creeping up fast on me and I really do not want to go into it all stooped over and OLD.

I will recommend you read the book. Borrow if from the library. Borrow it from a friend.  It can be a hard read because there is a lot of real science in there.  Laboratory science.  Things that I recognize from my work as a phlebotomist and lab technician but really never knew how these things worked or where those numbers come from.

Make your own decisions. Make informed decisions.  Follow his blog.

I’ve made my decision.  Today is day 6.  I’m starting to have small cravings for cookies and sweet breads.  I’m not ready to give in.

My health may just depend on it.

Leave a Reply

