Finally Getting Fit

Waist Away- Day 1

Posted on: May 14, 2012

I’m on page 60 of 266 of Dr. Davis’s Wheat Belly.

What interesting reading! Seriously. There is some serious science in this book. Big words and all. It makes me very glad that I am a little bit of a science nerd and so a little bit about what he’s talking about.

The main point is “The wheat we are eating today is not the wheat of our grandparents’ time.”  It’s been modified nearly beyond recognition. In fact, the genetic makeup of the stuff is unrecognizable.  We shouldn’t even call it wheat anymore it is so far removed from the original plant.

It’s now 3 PM and I am freaking starving! I will admit I am not used to being this hungry at this time of day and part of it is my own fault. I was supposed to have a starch with my meal, a potato or rice… something un-wheat-y… and I forgot it.

Breakfast was a coconut milk/strawberry/Muscle Milk smoothie.

Lunch was a grilled chicken breast and a box of Green Giant steam veggies. Cauliflower, squash, carrots, and cranberries in a rosemary buttery sauce.

Snacks have been baby sweet peas and baby carrots with hummus and a sugar-free Jello pudding cup after lunch.

About 4PM I ate the Jif to go Chocolate peanut butter cup.

Dinner was a shake identical to breakfast as I was on my way to dance class.

Then I busted my butt teaching an hour long belly dance class.  When I got home I ate a few pieces from the box of trail mix… just a couple of walnut pieces, a few dried cranberries and a couple of cocoa coated soynuts.

All in all.  A good start.

Tomorrow will start with a root canal at 7:30 AM!  Gotta get the bad stuff out of the way first thing then the rest of the day will be bright and sunshiney.

 

Leave a Reply

