Finally Getting Fit

Gift of Health?

Posted on: May 13, 2012

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Mothers who may stumble across this.

I believe in gifting oneself the things that one might want.  I learned a long time ago not to depend on anyone else getting you just the thing you want the most.  It’s liable to be the wrong size, the wrong color, the wrong brand…. etc.

So this year I am gave myself a new book.  It’s called Wheat Belly and is written by a cardiologist. I just bought it last night and I don’t even think I’m past the introduction yet.

I found a simplified version of the diet in a Woman’s World magazine.

You drink a fruited protein shake for breakfast and lunch. For dinner you eat unlimited grilled meat, non-starchy veggies, and 1 non wheat starch such as sweet potato, brown rice, couscous, etc.  For snack you can have unlimited cruciferous veggies with hummus, guacamole, or plain… however you like. The idea is to limit limit limit the wheat.

I’m calling this my Waist Away plan.  I have got to lose this waist. Especially after reading an article that shows that the biggest risk factor for sudden cardiac death is a waist:hip ratio of greater than .8. It’s downright scary.

Starting measures:

Waist: smallest point above the belly button- 40 inches

Lower Abdomen: the largest point below my belly button- 45 inches

Hips: 45 inches

It’s time to shrink.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

