Finally Getting Fit

13.1

Posted on: January 17, 2012

Hey y’all!!!!    Guess what?

I walked another half-marathon.  Can you believe it?  My regular walk partner couldn’t join me. Her boss wouldn’t let her off work Friday night. So I had found a new half pal.
January 14 2012
That’s the medical director from where I work, Ed.  He’s a great guy and he runs.  He really runs. He has a consistent 11 minute mile and he’s faster when he runs 5Ks.

Running has been really really hard for me. I don’t know if it’s the cold or if I’m not pushing myself hard enough but I just haven’t been able to breathe and run.  I just give out so fast.  So we walked the WHOLE race.

He could have left me but he stayed with me so I wouldn’t be by myself.

It was cold that morning. 24 degrees F!  By the time we finished the temp was up in the 40s.  It was such a beautiful day. Look at the blue sky.  And the route volunteers were wonderful.  The crew at mile 4.5 was real party people and mile 9.5 had a dancing chicken.  It was Amazing!

When I got home I had some definite wheezing. My rescue inhaler took care of that. I’ve never actually wheezed before. I spent the rest of the day on the couch.

I had a goal of 3:15 of better and didn’t make it.  I came in just past 3:20. I don’t know if I’ll ever do another one but I’m glad I did that one.  And I’m glad that Ed did it with me.  He will have one helluva PR if ever runs one.

1 Response to "13.1"

That’s a great time! Especially in those temperatures! Hope you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

