Finally Getting Fit

And We’re Off

Posted on: January 2, 2012

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

How about this y’all.  The very first challenge of 2012 and it’s against me!

I know I said I was giving up the scale but I will ‘fess up and say that I did step on it this morning because we all need a starting point.  I should have pulled out the tape measure too but a small emergency phone call from the hubby delayed that action.  Maybe tomorrow.

With any challenge there has to be goals.  I’ve already mentioned in this post that I’m just not going to focus on body weight this year.  My first goal of the year to work on is going to be to sugar detox.  I do love me some sugars so this is not going to be easy.  As a matter of fact by 8:30 AM today I had mindlessly chomped 3 pieces of candy.  Then I realized what I was doing and threw them all out.

It’s going to take some practice.  I know this and accept it.

I. Am. Not. Perfect.

There! I said it.  Now you know my dirty little secret 🙂

Mel wrote a great piece on Resolutions vs Goals.  Go read it.  I’m going to use it to help me along.

I have shamelessly copied & pasted from her.

  • S pecific – What do I want to accomplish?  Eliminate crappy junk food from my diet.  ie: honey buns, candy, candy bars, ice cream, pie, donuts, cookies, etc.

 

  • M easurable – How will I track my progress or know when I’ve reached my goal? I will record my chomping in myfitnesspal.com.  I would like to say that I will have reached my goal when I no longer have the craving and urge to turn to sweet crap but I don’t know if that is realistic.  I’ve heard a lot about the 90/10 rule for weight loss and healthy eating.  90% of your diet should be healthy, while 10% can be the less healthy choices.  So, If I apply that to this challenge. 8 weeks = 55 days (today is my start day) = 3 meals + 2 snacks per day = 275 opportunities for good choices. 10% of that is 27.  

 

  • A ttainable – Is this goal something I can actually finish within the specified time frame?  Perhaps your goal is to run 100 miles per month.  If you’re a seasoned runner, this could very well be an attainable goal.  However, if you’re a novice runner, then it probably wouldn’t be as attainable.  This goal is attainable if I take it one day at a time, one meal at a time, one snack at a time.   I can do this. I need to do this.

 

  • R elevant – Is this goal something I really care about completing?  If it’s not something you care about, then it’s not something that will keep you motivated to finish and complete. This is something I absolutely need to care about since I have a great big ol’ family history of obesity, heart disease and diabetesThe junk food is taking up space and calories where healthy food needs to be. It’s time to kick the crap. Also, I don’t have my thermal regulator anymore so all that crap I’ve been eating is just turning to fat… around mah belleh. Not a good look for me.

 

  • T imely – Set a time frame for whatever goal you set for yourself.  If there isn’t a time set, it becomes far too easy to procrastinate.  Setting the time frame gives us a clear end date we can work toward to help stay on track.  I’ve got 8 weeks to work out my game plan, figure out my substitutions, get into the habit of choosing healthy over crap. Today is day 1. 55 days of choices.  Let’s do it!

 

3 Responses to "And We’re Off"

Looking forward the reading about your accomplishments during this challenge!

I love how you broke each step down for how you are going to succeed! We can all do this together.

I use fitness pal too. You can find me under “echaos” I would love to support you there too.

Leave a Reply

