Finally Getting Fit

I finished it.

Posted on: December 2, 2011

Finishing my first 13.1

Here it is.  The proof that I actually finished this gig.

See that big ol smile?  Totally fake.

See that running?  Totally fake.

I mostly walked up that hill and ran enough to get the photos and cross the finish line.

After 3:22:03 everything on my body hurt.  My feet hurt, my hip flexors were screaming at me, and my hands were swollen to tight I couldn’t make a fist.

I cried on the water station volunteer at mile 11.5.

I was huffing and puffing up the North GA hills like some pervert making an obscene phone call.

But it was FUN.

And I finished.

There were some times after the mile 10 mark that if it hadn’t been for my BFF I would have just sat down until someone came to get me.  Yay for running partners!

We mostly stayed together. She is faster than me so she is nearly always 20-30 steps ahead of me. But when I start having issues, she always waits for me to catch up. She pushes me! She keeps me going. She is the carrot dangling in front of the stubborn old donkey. Thank goodness I have her.

After the race, we turned in our bib chit for a free breakfast bag of mini bagel, hard boiled egg, cheese, apple, peanut butter and champagne.

Wait… champagne?  Yep!  Champagne!  Zooma races rock.  If you ever get a change to participate do it and make sure you have enough time to enjoy the expo and after party.  We were rushed to get checked out the hotel and by the time we did, the after party was packed up.  That won’t happen at the next one and there will .

And there will be a next one.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

