Finally Getting Fit

The First Question

Posted on: November 27, 2011

If you tell a friend you bought a new dress is her first question “OOO! What color?”  or is it “Really, what size?”

I know someone that always gets “What was your time?” whenever she mentions she ran a certain mileage or finished a race.

The question I get most often is “Did you run the whole way?”

Yes, the majority of people who enter races run the entire way.  Even baby runners can run a 5K the whole way.

I’ve been running about 2 years. I’m middle aged, over-weight, and I have some joint issues. I probably have exercise induced asthma. I’ve had several health issues to contend with in the last 24 months that I don’t feel like talking about.

But I’m getting up off my ass and getting out the door.

I may not get up every morning and work out.

I may decide to walk a couple of laps around the hospital building at lunch. Fresh air and sunshine… yummy. “Did you run the whole way?”

I go to dance 4 nights every week. Some nights are 1 hour of dance. Some nights are 2 hours of dance. 4 nights per week except for holiday weeks. Without fail. “Did you run the whole way?”

I enter 5K races and I finish them. I’ve only missed two that I signed up for and that was because it was raining. I have yet to run in the rain. “Did you run the whole way?”

The answer: No.

I do not run the whole way.  I don’t even really run. I shuffle. I jog. I walk.  I’ve sprinted a couple times at the finish line to cross before someone that passed me.

I feel no shame in walking.  NONE.  I refuse to.

I don’t have a snappy come back to anyone that asks me the question.   I just answer No.

I posted on Saturday that I just finished my first half-marathon.  I got that first question. “Did you run the whole way?”

No, I didn’t.  I walked.  A lot.  At least half.  Most likely more.

And you know what?  I am proud as hell for finishing!  I was nearly crawling through mile 12. I even cried on a water station volunteers shoulder.

I freaking finished!

and I feel NO shame in walking!

Click for image source.

Zooma Atlanta 2011

 

What question do you get first?
How does it make you feel?
Chitchat.

Leave a Reply

