Finally Getting Fit

Labor Day

Posted on: September 6, 2011

Wow, it’s been over a month since I posted here.  Crazy.

That’s my life has been!

Crazy.

So, on labor day I ran the famous Macon Labor Day Road Race. They’ve been doing this thing for 35 years.

This is always one of the best organized races in town. The only complaint I heard was that they didn’t have anyone calling splits.  I surprised anyone that is interested in splits doesn’t have a GPS or Garmin to do that for them.  Me? I don’t want to know. I don’t even want to know how far I’ve gone or how far I’ve got to go. I just want a start and a finish. That’s what is important to me.

The day was great. It was cloudy and overcast with a forecast of rain. Perfect!  My BFF and I were going to run the 10K. We’ve done that distance on weekends but never timed!  My goal was to finish in 1:30.

I know my limits. Yes, I do.

However. I had no idea I looked like this!

OMG!

This was the 3 mile point. I know I’m not pretty when I run. I sweat like a cow and my face turns tomato red. But OMG! I’m FAT!  I’m sure I don’t have to tell you gals how DISGUSTED this picture makes me.  I just immediately want to go and sew my lips shut and go buy every diet pill on the market.  ug!

We paced pretty well. I can’t run far. We ran between traffic lights, then walked between traffic lights, run, walk, run, walk.  Not really even run. A 14 minute mile cannot really be considered running 😦  boo.

I was sporting my Zensah calf sleeves though and I am thrilled to announce that only my left shin is a little sore today.  And I had my FroggTogg Chilly Dana on. LOVE it.  It’s a bit thick and hard to tie but I tossed a cup of water on it at every stop and it was ice cold all over again.

This was hard. This 10K was as hard for me as the 3K was last year.  By the time I got to mile 5 I was DONE. Done!  I didn’t have any energy anything with me. No powerbar bites, GU, jelly beans, etc.  I will definitely have something the next time.  Will NUUN help with that or is that strictly an electrolyte replacement?

I was thrilled to see this.The official chip time was 1:31:57.  2 minutes off my goal. Not too bad for a first 10K if I do say so myself.

I’ve got my first half marathon in November, after Thanksgiving.  I think I’ll be doing some repeats in the morning 🙂 and changing my diet a bit.  If you’re a “pro” at the lose-weight-while-training-for-a-race diet please let me know. I need all the advice I can get.

1 Response to "Labor Day"

first off let me say you’re not alone in the “i hate my race pictures” camp. i’m firmly planted there.

wanna know what i see when i look at your pictures? a beautiful woman who’s working hard and enjoying herself. look at your smile!!

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

