Finally Getting Fit

Run to Freedom

Posted on: June 19, 2011

Salute to Freedom 5K 42:05

Saturday was race day. Isn’t it for nearly everyone?

This week was the Salute to Freedom 5K sponsored by the Kwanzaa Cultural Access Center. It was part of the MTRC Race Series so I wasn’t going to miss the chance to get points.

The day started out beautiful with 65 degree weather and a completely overcast sky. We started in downtown Macon at the historic Tattnall Square Park (<—- there are pics) just beside Mercer University.  I can’t find photos that do the campus justice. There is so much green and the stately old buildings peeking through are just beautiful.

I started in the back of the pack as usual.

My nemesis Ms. Brenda Gail was there. She is a race walker and for the life of me I cannot keep up with her. My goal is to catch up and pass her one day.  I start slow and as usual just can’t breathe. Someone please tell me this will get better. I would love to be able to breathe and run without sounding like a damn freight train out of control going downhill.  I would also love to be that fast but alas, it is not to be.  Yet.

The route was just beautiful. Around and through the campus. Up and down the hills.  I did a good job keeping up with Mrs. Brenda Gail this time around. I would catch up and pace beside her for a while and then dropped back to a walk. Then catch up again after I got my breath back. It went like that the whole race. I finished less than 10 seconds behind her this time without having to sprint 🙂

I finished in 42:05.

Not a PR but not bad considering how hard it was for me.  I have to get in more miles. I have to get an improvement in that time.

 

 

 

1 Response to "Run to Freedom"

It will get better! Especially since I see you were only 10 seconds behind her.

I know this because I too had a nemesis race walker that would always, always, ALWAYS come in just before me in races. Then a couple years ago I ran a quarter marathon and I beat the race walker by 4 minutes! YIPPEE!!!!! I was so freaking happy that I finally beat her that didn’t care if I ever did it again.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

