Finally Getting Fit

Check in

Posted on: May 4, 2011

May Your Way Challenge

Today is the very first check-in for the May your way challenge.

I’m in for 2 days and so far it’s just meh… sort of okay.

To refresh my memory on the goals:

Actually DO the 3 day/week wt training routine that the Coach wrote for me.

Drink 3 liters of water EVERY day.
5 servings of fruit/veggies every day.
Limit the whites (sugar, flour, etc) to one day/week.

I’ve done fairly well on the fruits/veggies.
I’ve done good on the water.
I haven’t done that wt training workout yet. (More on that later)
And I had pizza last night which totally had white flour crust. 😦

This is HARD! And I thought I picked fairly easy goals. I guess not, not for me anyway.

So I asked Dr. Google about my muscle aches this morning and this is what I found.

Symptoms of Hypothyroidism

  • Fatigue : check
  • Weakness : check
  • Weight gain or increased difficulty losing weight : nothing new here
  • Coarse, dry hair
  • Dry, rough pale skin : check
  • Hair loss : I had already lost a lot of hair from the hyperthyroid days
  • Cold intolerance (you can’t tolerate cold temperatures like those around you) : check
  • Muscle cramps and frequent muscle aches : check
  • Constipation : check
  • Depression : check
  • Irritability : only without medication
  • Memory loss : check
  • Abnormal menstrual cycles
  • Decreased libido : check

I was told it could take 6 months to a year for everything to “level out.” Holy smacks people. This tells me that my med dose isn’t high enough yet but the doc isn’t going to want to change it for another month.

The fatigue, weakness, and aches are the things that bother me most. I feel so OLD. And I’m not.

You all just have no idea how much I hate feeling like this.

5 Responses to "Check in"

I’m sorry you are having to deal with hypothyroidism. That just plain sucks. 😦 I have lots of those symptoms myself, and have been tested, but luckily my levels are normal.

Just do the best you can, girl.

first off you said “limit” not “eliminate” whites right? so it may just be semantics, but one round of pizza with white flour does not a failure for that goal make.

my mom is struggling too with her thyroid. & struggling with her doc’s hesistance to change her meds. my prayers for her I’ll share for you.

Good luck with your goals!
This is the first post of yours that I’ve read so I don’t know your lifestyle, but I’ve been trying to make it easier for me to snack on fruits/veggies while at work, so I stocked my desk drawer with canned fruits (sugar free) and veggies as well as a few spices so they’re shelf stable. Hope this helps!

It’s hard to work through the sluggish, slow feelings but you can do it. It’s only Wednesday…you can still do some weight training routines. Don’t give up!

You can do this…just take it one day at a time! On a side note: thyroid issues SUCK! I’m thinking mine may be off-kilter again but I’m not wanting to do meds again. They didn’t help me all that much….I’m looking for herbs/vitamins to help; you might want to also…just a thought!

Leave a Reply

