Finally Getting Fit

Day 20

Posted on: April 20, 2011

This is the 21st day that I’ve tracked my calories over at myfitnesspal.com. Yes no exercise today. I am taking  a rest day for my shins and calves. I’ll be back at it tomorrow.

And because I’m so derned OC I also keep a Google spreadsheet of my total food calories.  I’ve told y’all the number make me crazier… but right now I think I need them.

So every day I enter what I eat or what I can remember that I’ve eaten. I know there’s a couple of tablespoons of spinach dip and about 5 crackers missing from this week but I am not going back to add them in.  Then I go to my Google-y spreadsheet and put that number in it’s respective cell.  Then when 7 days are up I average all the numbers.  Because we all know 1 day is not going to make or break the bank, or scale as it is. It’s the average intake over a given period, yes.  :You SHOULD be nodding your head in agreement:

That first week my daily average was 1716.

By the second week my daily average for the 2 weeks was 1661.

Now that the third week is complete my daily average for the 21 days is 1680.

And I did get back on the scale and I’m still below 180 so I guess Sunday’s weight was for real and not just dehydration! I’ll take it! Yes I will.

I will tell you what I did do that I think is making a difference.

My fitness pal has activity settings that it uses to calculate your needed calories.

I originally had mine set as active:

Active: Spend a good part of the day doing some physical activity (e.g. waitress, mailman)

with a goal of losing 1 pound per week.

I do consider my job active. I am an x-ray tech/ phlebotomist in a physician’s office but unlike most where you come to me, I go to you.  I am up and down the hallways and up and down the stairs between the first and second floor all day long. I am standing at the work-stations performing tests and entering orders and results all day long. Or I am running back and forth, up and down getting my patients to take them to x-ray… all day long. I am the only tech for a 16 room clinic.  It’s a rare day that I get to sit down before or after lunch. I also take 30 minutes of my lunch time to power walk or do some run/walk intervals on the hills around the office.

But what myfitnesspal doesn’t know is that my metabolism is screwed to the 7th heaven and beyond due to my medical condition. So I dropped my fitness level to

Lightly Active: Spend a good part of the day on your feet (e.g. nurse, salesman)

to make up for that metabolism that’s been functioning at a snail’s pace since early last month. That dropped my calorie requirement to 1410 per day without exercise.

I do like that the more I exercise the more I can eat! It really makes me want to move my rear!

I’m sure once I get that little glandular problem regulated I’ll be able to be more truthful about my activity level but I may find that I always need to keep it at one level lower that what it really is. I’m told it can take 6 months to a year to get regulated and “normal” so I’m in for one helluva roller coaster ride.

I would much rather it be the scale with all the ups and downs than my mood though. Fer real, the people at work are ready to see me carted off in the funky white coat with all the straps.

I am thankful for the Sisters and the latest challenge and my co-worker for encouraging me and introducing me to myfitnesspal. It came at a time when I really needed it.

Leave a Reply

