Finally Getting Fit

Gator Go 5K

Posted on: April 17, 2011

Day 16 of tracking and journaling and doing.

I ran the GatorGo 5K this morning.

I was a bit worried yesterday if I would be able to do it. The weather channel had storm warnings for my area all night last night and I was afraid the race would be cancelled. When I woke up the sky was a nasty evil looking red-pink-green-gray color. But it wasn’t raining when it was time for me to leave the house so I went. Little did I know that as I was sky gazing a small tornado was touching down in the race town!!

I was also a bit worried about my gut. I had a serious case of the tummy-trots yesterday and that is THE one thing that I’m scared of happening during a race.  All it takes it not making it back to the house one time and now I’m paranoid every time I go out.

I went any way. The race was coordinated by a college Fraternity raising money for the Military Heroes Campaign. The majority of the money raised goes to The Fisher House Foundation. A good cause, a small race, and clouds over head to shield the sun.

I think they only had about 70 people sign up and a lot of the people didn’t show up because of the storms the night before.

The sad news is that I finished 3rd from last. I’m usually that last runner before the pack of walkers. The route for this race was a double loop. I think all but two walkers quit after the first loop. I was in front of them.

The good news is that I have a new PR. I finished in 40:57. I have never finished under 41 minutes before. When I saw that I had 30 seconds to cross the line to come in under 41 and I gave up everything I had. It was so hard. I had just come up the biggest hill ever and was gasping for air but I did it with 3 seconds to spare.

And I didn’t place… They had the awards set at a 10 year interval instead of the usual 5 year intervals. BooHiss! Oh well. I’m happy anyway.

After I got home I mapped out the route, showered and went to pay some bills and buy some groceries.

That’s when the migraine hit.  I haven’t had a post-run migraine in a while but it was BAD! To top it off Coach was mad because I didn’t just go buy groceries and come home. Even though I had told him that I had other errands to run. Whatever. There was door slamming, and then the silent treatment.  I took my aching head and went to bed, was asleep by 6:30 or 7 and didn’t wake up until 6:30 this morning (Sunday). It’s still a bit cool in the house but it probably won’t last past the afternoon and then we’ll be okay.  That’s just how we are.

I’ll do something light today, a few laps around the block or a walk to the corner store. Nothing huge though.

What did you do on your Saturday?

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

