Finally Getting Fit

The forsythia are blooming

Posted on: March 13, 2011

3/12/11 42:35?

Happy Monday everyone.

I hope you had a great weekend. Enjoyed your time with family, got out and moved your azz a bit, and kept the unhealthy eats to a minimum.

I got up early early Saturday morning and drove North to run a 5K.  It’s was about 34 degrees Saturday morning. The Forsythia Festival 5K is always COLD. It even snowed one year. In Georgia. In March!   The race was at the Georgia Public Safety Training Course. It was very nice. Large restrooms and a gated closed course which of course meant no public auto traffic. The day was bright and sunny. The course started with a short up-hill run.  As I was half way through the first mile I had to walk so I could get my inhaler. Then it was all downhill. And my running skirt started coming down. I kept my pace and tucked my skirt band into my leggings.  As I went the curve at the 1.5 mile mark I was faced with the biggest hill I have ever seen. I made it about 1/3 of the way up and then power-walked it until my calves and shins started hurting then increased my pace. Next to the hill was a huge prison. I don’t know if it’s a real prison or a mock training prison. There were a lot of cars there but no inmates to be seen.  At the top of the hill we had a view of a pretty little lake with ducks paddling around. And did I mention NO car traffic!! The grass and trees are not green yet but you can see just how pretty it’s going to be in summer.  Yeah, that’s me doing my little military shuffle run.  Just past the lake and around the curve is the hill that started it all. It wasn’t too bad and my running mentor, Autumn meet me just below the halfway point to run me home. She was giving me pointers the whole way. I ended up walking about 10 steps right toward the top of the hill.  We came shuffling up to a gal walking who took off at a jog. My thought… OH HELL NO!! At every race there’s at least one walker who beats me across the finish line at a jog when I’ve been struggling with my slow shuffle the whole time. Not this race. I kicked it in and stretched it. It felt good. Except that I couldn’t breathe very well running like that. But I beat her! By about 2 steps.  Autumn even told me I had good form! Woohoo!

So now I have to add some of that long stride into my every day runs. I’m scared and  excited at the same time. But I can do it.

Leave a Reply

