Finally Getting Fit

Girl’s Day Out

Posted on: March 5, 2011

I’m in sunny Florida right now enjoying the free wi-fi in the hotel atrium.  I’m spending the weekend my baby-girl. Yeah, she’s a freshman in college but she’ll always be my baby-girl.

We went to day to the 2011 American Cup gymnastics event today. It was AMAZING.  The strength, the speed, then flexibility of these athletes just amazes me.

Jonathan Horton won overall for men and Jordyn Weiber won overall for women.  I’m always amazed at the women gymnasts and how they seem to fly through the air during floor routines and from the uneven bars. That someone has the courage to go up that HIGH in the air without a net under them (okay, even with a net under them) just amazes me.

I’m always impressed with the men on rings. The strength in those shoulders and backs as they hold the Iron Cross visible in the muscle striations. But I never realized until today just how big those shoulders and biceps can be. Lawd have mercy on my girlie parts.  Jonathan Horton and Germany’s Phillip Boy are sporting some of the nicest shoulders I have seen in a while!

The down side to today is that I was stuck in the arena for 5 hours with concession food 😦

I started my day off good with Quaker Oatmeal with a touch of peanut butter mixed in. Y’all just do not know how good that is. It’s like eating a peanut butter oatmeal cookie for breakfast. I skipped the Belgium waffles, biscuits and gravy, sausage, grits and eggs. (Although I am not making any promises about tomorrow!)

Then I had to take the girl to Sonic because they are the only place around that serves non-breakfast food at breakfast hours. She doesn’t eat breakfast food. How did I end up with a picky eater? Must be from the husbands side of the family. She got chicken tenders. I passed on the offer of taking the onion ring and ignored those two big triangles of Texas toast that I normally try to snitch from her. We grabbed water to take with us.

At the arena the only foods were hamburgers, hot-dogs, chicken tenders, french fries, cheese pizza, pepperoni pizza, nachos and cheese, giant pretzels, dipping dots, and candied nuts.  I knew I had to pass on anything fried. I had too much.

I had a giant pretzel, minus the salt. Then I had the cheese pizza, and snagged candied pecans on the way out the door.

I’m thinking I should probably skip dinner but I know I can’t ask the girl to skip dinner. The only places we have near are Hardee’s, Burger King, Waffle House, Wendy’s and the hotel restuarant.

I made sure we walked up and down the stairs at the arena instead of taking the escalator or elevator.

Baby steps people and every one counts.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

