Finally Getting Fit

Spring in2 Action

Posted on: March 2, 2011

I’ve joined a new challenge over a the Sisterhood.  I do love a little push to keep me going in the right direction.  This is a buddy challenge. I’m teamed up with Allison from Time To Get Serious.  It’s gonna be fun. I’m excited and ready to go!

Our team name is Moms in2 Babes. Allison’s getting married next year and is ready to look and feel her best and not be a frumpy tired mom. I’m not saying she is now because I’m sure she’s NOT. She just doesn’t want to turn into one.  I’m just old and don’t want to start that whole process of rot and decay that hits so many people as they turn 50. I can get old but damned if I’m gonna get infirm. Ya hear me?

The challenge is both weight loss (gah, I hate the scale but I know it’s a useful tool) and the 100 push-up challenge. I had Coach watch me while I did my initial push-up test this morning just to make sure my form was okay. I hate to see women “pecking corn” or “humping the floor” when they are supposed to be doing a good push-up. Don’t cheat yourself my friends. It may hurt and you might can only do 1 but that’s okay. Do it RIGHT and get all the benefits proper form has to offer.

My initial number?

 

Coach said my form was “pretty good” and “not bad.”  That’s high praise coming from him. He said I could go a little lower and that my head bobbles too much. (WTF?)  I’ll take it.

Now on to the scale. (the crowd boos) I really screwed up over the holidays. I didn’t exercise enough. I had some chest/head thing for almost a month and it was cold and I did what every cave woman wants to do. I curled up on the couch with blankets and hot cocoa and cookies.

And the results of that hard work definitely shows up on the scale.

I’m hoping to lose 10 of those pounds during this next challenge and get my push-ups all the way to 100. I’m still have a hyperactive thyroid even though I had radiation in January. It hasn’t died out yet. The only down side is that I don’t sleep worth a crap and you all know how much a good sleep helps with improving fitness levels. It’s hard to get up and go work-out at 5 in the morning when you were awake at 1:30, 3, and 4. 😦  But this too shall pass and I have no intention of letting myself or Allison down.

Just to throw down some concrete goals:

Weight: 170

Push-ups: 100

Run: 4 miles, no walk breaks

Nutrition: No candy, pie, cake, cookies, etc.  Increase water back up to 3L/day

I’m ready.  Are you?

9 Responses to "Spring in2 Action"

You won’t let me down!! I’m really looking forward to this challenge and glad we got paired up!

Great job on the 12 push ups! I did mine this morning and I think I only did 5 correctly. I wasn’t going to continue the challenge…but you changed my mind, thanks!

Great job on the pushups, Deb! I have no doubt you’ll hit your goal of 100 by the end of the challenge!

Great job on the pushups! You’ll do great this challenge.

Awesome start to the pushup challenge! You will totally rock this!

good luck with your goals

Good luck on with the challenge and your goals! 🙂

My goal is to lose 10 pounds during this challenge, too! Best wishes to you!

Awesome job on your push ups! And I love the goals!

Great job to start the challenge! You can do this!

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

