Finally Getting Fit

The Power of One

Posted on: December 29, 2010

I guess it’s about time I get back to some regularly scheduled randomness.

It’s challenge time over at Shrinking Jeans. Today through the February 23rd I’ll be doing whatever my big sister wants.  Really, the challenges over there are just so much fun. They don’t leave you hanging by yourself all week even on the non-team challenges. There’s weekly mini-challenges, twitter workouts and parties, getting together at the hood… a real throw-down sorority party. It makes getting sweaty fun even if you have to do it by yourself.

I have entered into The Power of 1 challenge. And it starts today! Yes today!

I've got the Power!

The challenge title make me think of this song.

Someone please tell me I’m not the only that remembers that and I think I will have to add it to my run mix.

So today’s starting weight is :drumroll:

184.5

(Do not look at the broken toenail! It’s gross, I know!) Wow! That’s 6 pounds up since my last weigh-in in October. Truly I have not been on the scales since then. And my holidays have been full of sugary goodness.

This week’s challenge is to write out my “healthy living goals” for the challenge and new year.  So here goes.

1. Detox from all the sugar.  I will start that on Sunday. It’s already planned. I have one more weekend of sugar laden goodness to get through and then I AM done.

2. The husband want to go Paleo. No processed foods… None. Zero, Zilch. Nada.  Lawd help me but I said “Okay, sure, why not”           My goal is to not sneak eat carbs and sugar and to not kill the husband 🙂

3. WATER! I have got to get back to drinking more water. I’m down to about none a day now. The scale is showing me proof that I need it.

4. Exercise: the plan is weight training/bootcamp 2 time each week and running 3 times each week.

5. I’m having radiation treatment next Wednesday and will be in quarantine.  That doesn’t mean I can’t get out in the street and run though. I just have to do it by myself.

6. Run a 5K every month this year.

7. Running goal: Get my time under 35 minutes.

8. Blog goal: More relevant (to me anyway) posts and with photos. I got a great new Canon camera for Christmas and plan to use it!

 

13 Responses to "The Power of One"

I love your goals. Sugar detox sounds like a good idea to me. I hope you are able to meet all of your goals.

you’re one dedicated lady. radiation treatment seems like a good excuse not to run if you ask me…but there you are planning on pushing through it. 🙂

ps – if you think your toenails are gross you’d be humiliated to have mine. marathon blisters have killed my feet. maybe “get pedicure” should be a goal of mine for the challenge?? 😛

Love, love, love the goals!

Great goals, especially the part about “not kill the husband”! Love your dedication, good luck with the challenge, Deb!

I’m right there with you on the sugar detox – so need to stop it with the sweets. Good luck with the challenge!

Wonderful goals! I don’t think you are alone on the sugar detox either.

Oh and I totally remember that song.

You are totally going to rock this challenge!!!

I remember that song & love it!! You have wonderful goals!

You can do it! Great goals and I love your goal to do a 5K every month… That is such a doable goal AND a fun one!

Good luck with your goals! My hubby wants to go Paleo too, and it’s something we’ve been working on. I love my rice and pasta, so it’s an interesting journey!

I think that I will join you in this! I need to do alot of what you have already put down. I’m a sugar addict, so it will be hard to get detoxed! Good luck to both of us, eh?!

New to your blog, found you through the challenge linky. Your goals sound great. Good luck on meeting them.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

