Finally Getting Fit

Sister Sister

Posted on: December 8, 2010

There’s this great fitness site called called The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans. I love them. They are pretty.

It’s pretty fabulous. There are contest, and recipes, and motivations, and friends, and reviews… all kinds of nifty things over there.

One of the things is the Sister Spotlight. A chance to get to tell the world about someone who helps you stay motivated or kicks your butt or whatever. This week it is little ol me. Nominated by Erin. Erin is this hot little Southern girl over in North Carolina that I met during the summer challenge. It was fun kicking each others butt.  She’s pretty dern awesome too. Who else do you know that makes her own Kahlua? Huh? No one!

Truth is… I’ve slacked off a bit. I’ve got this nagging hanging on cold/sinus crud that is just about to put me under the daisies. I can’t decide if it’s pneumonia, pertussis, or just plain sinus crud with a touch of asthma thrown in. Probably that last one.

Here’s the dealie-o. Pertussis is making a comeback. All of us that vaccinated in the ’70’s and ’80’s need to go get a booster shot. We’re spreading it to the kids who aren’t getting sick because their vaccine is still working but they are spreading it to the teachers, who are bringing it to the church and the grocery store and the gym. Call your public health department and find out how few dollars it will cost you to save a life. Our clinic nurse practitioner and husband got it last year. She was out of work for a month and he ended up with several broken ribs, a collapsed lung, and some very long hospital stays from it.

So I’m pretty sure that I do not have pertussis. But I the cough is really interfering with the exercise program.  And the holiday goodies are interfering with my nutritional program.  (I loves candy and cookies)

I’m not giving up. I’m going to do the best I can and keep going. Never giving up. Not again.

2 Responses to "Sister Sister"

Hahaha 🙂 I love how making my own Kahlua makes me awesome. Who woulda thunk? I was so impressed that you were making your own butter beer!

And you aren’t giving up! Hang in there 🙂

Butter beer??? that sounds intriguing!!!
My sister makes her own Kahlua.. it is delish!!! YUM!!!!

Hope you feel better soon!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

