Finally Getting Fit

Marinara Sauce

Posted on: December 7, 2010

I’m not a cook.

I’m a “heat and eat”-er.

Open the can. Pour in a bowl. Heat. Eat.

Or drive through. Open wrapper. Eat.

So deciding to get rid of the maximally processed foods in my life is going to serious be life-changing.

I have cooked before. It seems a life-time ago. When my kids were small and I was a stay at home mom I did some home cooking. Not a lot. Still mostly a “heat and eat” cook.

I decided to start with a red sauce. Our jar sauce of choice is Prego. It’s thick and rich and oh so yummy. Slightly sweet and when Coach makes his meat sauce it’s thick enough to use as a sloppy joe filling.  The ingredient list isn’t horrible either: Tomato Puree (water, tomato paste), diced tomatoes in tomato juice, sugar, canola oil, salt, dehydrated onions, spice, dehydrated garlic, citric acid, natural flavoring.

There is that whole natural flavoring but I like to pretend it’s not propane or turpentine in my pasta sauce.

The red sauce recipe I chose was this one.  I’ve tried a couple one of Roni’s other recipes and loved them. I was sure she wouldn’t steer me wrong on this one.

And she didn’t.

I did have to make some adjustments though.

1. I wanted to cook this in the crock-pot not on the stove top.

2. My grocery doesn’t carry fresh turkey sausage, only smoked.

3. My family doesn’t eat meatballs.

So I cooked up a couple of links of diced turkey sausage and tossed them in the crockpot. Then I layered everything else on top and gave it all a good stir, put the lid on, turned it high and forgot about it for about 6 hours. That’s when the smell hit. OMG!!! It smelled like Italian heaven. Coach cooked up some whole wheat spaghetti noodles and we ladled the sauce on top.

DELICIOUSNESS!!

Coach does like his sauce a bit thicker than this made so next time I will omit the large can of water. I’m pretty sure if I had cooked this uncovered on the stove top instead of covered in the crock-pot it would have thickened up just right.

I like a thinner sauce. Something that I can “sop up” with my french bread after the pasta is all gone. It was just right for me.

It’s never too late to learn to cook. Look at me.  Smack in the middle of middle age and just now learning to make red sauce.

What’s your favorite red sauce recipe?

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

