Finally Getting Fit

Shrinkvivor Weigh-in #4: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

Posted on: October 6, 2010

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!
Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

The Good: I had already decided that I wasn’t going to push myself to see how fast I can run. I’m having too many problems with shortness of breath and heart palpitations. After talking to my running mentor (also a nurse) we decided it probably just wasn’t the best thing to do.  But I couldn’t stand it. By Friday every one had already run at least twice and times were improving. So I went out Friday night for just 1 mile, timed, to see what I could do.  The result 14:12.  Okay. I’ll take it. I’ve never timed my splits or anything. I just let dailymile.com calculate and post my average per mile pace.  I tend to look at the end result not the individual miles.  On Sunday I go out again. I studied the map of my route on dailymile to find the mile markers.  Mile 1: in front of the VA clinic. Mile 2: At the boat ramp at the lake. Mile 3: First mailbox on the road I turn on to come back home.  I wrote them on my hand so I wouldn’t forget, strapped on my sports watch with the lap timer and off I go.  The whole first mile is downhill. Yay! Then up the giant hill at the lake. A bit of walking there, turn around and go back down the hill and start the last mile… all up hill.

It wasn’t my worst run. Some walking up the giant hill. Still. I am gonna beat that damn hill. I swear! I get so winded. That makes me crazy. I feel like it’s completely out of proportion to the amount of effort I’m putting out. So the 2nd mile was walk, jog, walk, jog until I got to the bottom of the hill at the last mile. I jogged/ran (whatever) all the way up that hill. It’s not as steep as the hill at the lake, just long.  I’m approaching the 3 mile mark and two military type guys go jogging past on the other side of the road. Nice legs. Dude, I got a thumbs up! The young guys apparently appreciate that the old woman is getting her fit on. Nice.  Turning the corner toward home… i see the house.  Hit the driveway and stop the watch.  Did you catch that? Me either.  I got so distracted by the smell of testosterone in the early morning air that I forgot to hit the lap timer at the 3 mile mark.  Oh well.

Mile 1~ 13:16 A new PR? Maybe. Probably.  I don’t really know since I’ve never timed individual miles before.

Mile 2~ 14: 10

Mile 3.3 ~ 20:19

I’m so happy with that. If I could maintain that 13:16 pace I could shave some serious time off my 5K time. My PR for a 5K is 43:22.  I would love to get my 5K time under 39 minutes. This makes me think I can actually do it.

The Bad: My real challenge this week was to drink the water, eat 5 servings of fruit/veggies, and no fast food. I failed.  The water I got with no problem. I still drinking 100-124 oz/day. Pretty easily too. I managed 5 fruit/veggie servings the first 2 or 3 days then slipped down to 3 on most days. I had fast food 3 days. Maybe 4. I lost count. I’ll take any suggestions on what to do when I leave home at 8 AM, work for 8 hours, then go to dance or boot camp and then don’t get home until after 8 PM. My answer has always been to drive thru and get the healthiest thing on the menu before dance.

Seriously, leave me some tips in the comments.

The Ugly: This really goes hand in hand with the the bad. Too many bad choices and just flat out too many calories. I’m really hoping I can control that some this week. It’s going to be a tough weekend. The girl is coming home with friends from college to go to the fair. I’ll probably spend two days there. One day with her and then the next day with my dance sisters. We got stage time!!! A full hour to show the South some real belly dance.

.5 lb gain from last week.

12 Responses to "Shrinkvivor Weigh-in #4: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly"

Great run! I like the jogging guys checking you out! No worries about the scale, that half a pound is water weight!

I totally would not worry about that .5lb! That is nothing! Awesome job on the run!

You did great on the run! And kudos for the dudes checking you out 🙂

As for hitting the drive thru-I’d suggest you throw a power bar, apple slices with almond butter, or a cheese sandwich in your bag and eat that before dance. Then go home and have something small and healthy.

WOW! you did amazing on the run and *high five* for guys checking you out! It’s great inspiration to keep on going 😉

The bad & the ugly…pish posh! You are trying and that is all that counts!

Way to go on running and facing that hill. I’m still a treadmill runner (? sometimes)/walker. I laughed out loud at the part about the guys. Fantastic.

Good for you on that 13:16. I think that’s awesome especially since you kept on going after you got it. And I love the two hunks giving you attention. So cool.
My idea for your busy schedule would be something that I try to do when I’m not going to be home for a meal. I make a flat bread sandwich with lean ham or turkey and a little miracle whip and take it with me.
When you get home after your long long day, maybe pop in a Smart Ones. Some of them are SO good!

Nice time on the run! That’s awesome!

One word on the fast food: SUBWAY. Yes, you have to get out of your car and go in, but it’s really the best option when you’re in a hurry!

Way to go on the fast miles, Debra! WOW!! And it never hurts to have hot guys checking you out 🙂 I know it makes me feel good!

As far as the scale goes, that could totally be water retention from the fast food. Fast food has SO MUCH sodium!!!!

Good luck this week! You’re doing an awesome job, and I know the scales will be down for you next Wednesday!

deb! i miss you in our tribe so much 😦 but at least your toes are still orange! you’re with us in spirit, i know. i’m sorry you didn’t see a loss this week, but keep trucking it and you will. i just think about how far you’ve come this year and you are such an inspiration! you didn’t mention pizza night, were you able to refrain from eating it last night?

Sounds like you had an awesome run! That’s really kicking butt! Love to have guys (especially hot ones) checkin’ you out!! Fast food is always a tough one when we are so busy….I like the power bar/fruit/cheese idea. It works well….if you can remember to toss it in the car before leaving!! That seems to be my challenge!!

Staying away from fast food is so tough when you are constantly running! Maybe try and keep a box of Larabars or something in your car to tide you over until you get home?

Keep up the good work, girl!

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

