Finally Getting Fit

It’s Life

Posted on: September 30, 2010

A big ol’ Thank You to every one that commented yesterday.  You guys are awesome.

As ChristieO over at Average Moms Wear Capes wrote “Slow and steady is how it goes and it only stinks cause it’s a challenge but in real life which is what we’re really in anyway, it’s no big deal.”

Girl, you are so right!

Pizza night started ages ago at our house. It was a night when I had dance practice and Coach had class or coaching or something going on and no one would be home to cook. So we decided that would be pizza night. We would pre-order and  just have them deliver it to the kids. Both of them were young high school students then.  It was awesome. Except now the kids aren’t really here. The Boy lives mostly with his girlfriend but they are dirt broke like all the other 20-somethings I know and she works on Tuesday leaving him to his own devices. The Girl is hanging down in Christie’s part of the world at USF and well, that’s a 6 hour drive so she’s not coming home just for pizza… So we don’t do the pizza every week now. But it is still an ingrained part of our life.

Tuesday is just not the same without pizza on the bar.

I’m having a hard time letting go of pizza life. I’m sure it’s part of that whole empty nest thing I’ve got going on. I know if I can get the pizza on the bar then I’ll have at least one of the kids back in the house for a minute. Until he grabs the leftover birthday cake and heads out the door 🙂

I probably shouldn’t do too many any team challenges. My weight tend to stay around the same thing for 3-4 weeks then I’ll drop 3-4 pounds.  It’s crazy and stupid but it’s what happens.

Do I let it get me down? Nope. I know where it came from. I know where it’s going. I know I’m not going to become a couch potato and gain that 20 lbs back. I could barely move 20 lbs ago. I find I like moving.

Do I feel bad about it? Yep. Only because it’s going to affect Tribe Orange in the challenge.

For me.. well, it’s life. Up, down, up, down, that’s just how it goes. And for me that number just isn’t all that. It’s a tool, nothing more.

I get more excited when I can run that 3 miles without walk breaks (like I did yesterday) than the number on the scale.

1 Response to "It’s Life"

I know its a challenge but I agree with you completely. My weight fluctuates often and I’m use to that. I know people want to see weight loss every week but sometimes our bodies have other things in mind and we just can’t help it. Don’t beat yourself up over it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

