Finally Getting Fit

True Confessions Tuesday

Posted on: September 14, 2010

True Confessions

Sometimes I forget that I’m middle aged.

Sometimes I forget that I’m fat.

Sometimes I forget that I’m new at this whole running business.

Sometimes I forget about the early arthritis in my hip, knee, feet.

Sometimes I forget and I beat myself up when I’m not as fast as someone else.

Even if they’ve been doing this thing for years and years and I’ve only been at it for weeks.

Even if they are decades younger than me.

Especially if they are decades older than me.

I forget.

And have to remind myself.

In running, it doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that. -Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon co-founder

To remind myself that

“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”
John Bingham, running speaker and writer

And when I feel like I should give up and give in, even when I know it’s a hormonal despression talking I have to remind myself

“Running long and hard is an ideal antidepressant, since it’s hard to run and feel sorry for yourself at the same time. Also, there are those hours of clearheadedness that follow a long run.”
-Monte Davis

And when I feel like I’m just not good enough and that I’ll never be good enough I have to remind myself

“If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.”
John Bingham

4 Responses to "True Confessions Tuesday"

Oh deb, I absolutely loved that post! You sure do have a way with words! I’m going to steal that last quote, if you don’t mind 🙂

What a great post! So much inspiration. It makes me want to go out and run.

This post is amazing, thanks for sharing it. I have not started running, I am terrified. I want to, I just don’t have the courage to start!

I loved your post today!

Here’s one more quote for you: First or last, it’s the same finish line. – One More Mile t-shirt.

Great job sticking with the running even when you get frustrated. It will get easier. I promise.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

