Finally Getting Fit

What’s Happening?

Posted on: September 12, 2010

Does anyone remember that old show with Rerun and Rog and Shirley?

Not much has happening here. I’m still on the right track to fitness… I think. The running seems to be getting harder and I don’t understand that.

I ran the Macon Labor Day road race.  The proof is here.  That’s the gun time showing on the clock. My chip time was 43:22. That’s my best time ever. I still walked a good bit of it.

Ever since my thryoid has gone haywire again I’ve been having a hard time breathing.  I think I’m going to see if my MD will change my meds. I don’t think I should be losing ground here.

This past weekend I ran in the Run for Camp Little Shot. It’s a 5K fundraiser run for a Diabetes Camp for Kids. Most kids have Type 1 diabetes. Type 1 is caused by a physiological problem and can not be “cured” with diet and exercise like Type 2. These children will always be diabetic and face a lot of social problems in school and with their peers.  The camp had some poster size letters that kids had written telling us about their life with diabetes and they were all heart-wrenching.

The race didn’t start utnil 9 AM and the  course had 3 big hills and nearly killed me. I was just about in tears at the turn around point. Partly because of the hills and I didn’t feel like I was doing well at all but also because of the heat. I do not do well AT ALL with heat. My first mile was under 14 minutes. I don’t remember the exact time yelled out at me. I have no idea about the time at the 2nd mile. I was just trying to get done and trying to encourage others that looked like they were ready to fall out too. I figured if I could talk them through it then I would make it. I ended up coming in at 47:19. My worst time ever! But that’s okay. I was told that’s a hard course and a lot of the regular running club members don’t do this race because it’s so hard.

My running mentor met me just after the 3 mile mark and jogged in with me. And as I was walking around after coming in I looked up and there was my Coach!! I didn’t know he would be there! He was supposed to stay home and cut the grass and do house/yard stuff but there he was! I was so happy. We hung around for awards because Autumn, my mentor, is 62 and always places for her age group. Then I changed clothes and went with her and her husband and another running pal to Waffle House for brunch. Pecan waffles and crispy bacon… yum!

There’s another race on Saturday that should be easier but I just don’t know if I want to do it. It’s another charity run so I just might give it a try after all.

Leave a Reply

