Finally Getting Fit

Oops, I did it again

Posted on: August 28, 2010

Time 44:45.92

It wasn’t an “oops.” It wasn’t an accident. I did it on purpose.

The last time first time I taught myself to run/jog I ran one 5K and then promptly quite. It was December and dang it was cold. I didn’t want to get up on cold mornings and run. My honey had just come back from being deployed to Qatar and I didn’t want to leave that warm toasty body in the bed while I hit the cold air.  I stayed snuggled in until all of sudden it had been 5 years since I had run.

I’m about to turn 45 years old. I’m sick and tired of having this love hate relationship with food. I don’t want to be 202 lbs. I don’t want to be miserable in my own skin. So I’ve been working all year to do something about it. I started in January with the Couch to 5K 9-week program and Wii Active. Within 2.5 months I had a hurt foot and my shoulder was killing me. the first race that I signed up far came and went without me.  So I had the shoulder fixed with a little arthroscopic surgery giving my arm and my feet a 5 week rest. Then I picked up the ball and started running again.

Two weeks ago I ran/walked the first 5K. I was not happy with my performance but I was happy to finish.  Really nothing could have stopped me from finishing short of falling out from heat because my car was parked at the finish line. I walked more than I ran and I was just very anxious about the whole thing.

Today I ran my second race.  Advertised as a 5K but measuring 3.5 miles. I was there by myself at the start. I didn’t know a soul. I started as usual at the back of the pack and was quickly passed by fast dudes with racing strollers.  I had my mp3 playing one of the free mixes from DJ Steve Boyett courtesy of the Podrunner Newsletter.

Down a hill, up a hill, turn around, down the hill, around the corner, turn left, up the hill, turn left, low slope up, angle to the right, down the hill, walk up the hill, around the curve, down the hill, walk up a hill, turn right, nice long straight block, turn right, see the finish line, try to crank it up and fail, cross the finish.

By the time we got to the last down hill we were all ready to be at the finish. I didn’t come in last but I was very close.  I was back with the walkers and folks just strolling along. I know some of the people that finished before me walked the first half and then passed me at a fast jog along that long straight block to the finish. I wanted to trip them. I ran nearly all this race at my slow turtle pace. I ran up that first huge hill and half way up the last hill. I discovered I would rather go UP a hill than down a hill. My knee did not like the down hill portions. My heart just tries to pound of my chest on the steep uphill portions and if I try to go to fast.

I was tired. My face was red as a tomato. I was covered in sweat. I didn’t care. I am happy with today’s performance. More happy now that I mapped it out and see that it was 3.5 miles instead of the 3.1.

I’m hoping that once I get my thyroid squared away (they want to kill it) that my heart will not go so crazy on the hills and that I will be able to increase my speed.

My favorite part of the race? As I was leaving this morning and giving my hubs a goodbye kiss (he was still in the bed!!) he told me he was proud of me.  Lawd, I love that man.

1 Response to "Oops, I did it again"

Wow. that last sentence of yours makes it all worth it. That’s awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

