Finally Getting Fit

Better Oats- Oat Revolution

Posted on: August 18, 2010

As I was walking through the grocery store aisles yesterday I came across a new oatmeal box that I had never seen before.

I bought the strawberries and cream flavor. It contains real strawberries not strawberry flavor. The packaging is unique from other oatmeal brands. It’s a tall skinny package instead of the short squatty boxes that the other oatmeals come in.

I tried this out today as a little snack/dinner.  I followed the directions on the package and poured the dry oatmeal into a microwavable bowl. Then I used the envelope to measure the water and poured it into the oatmeal. I gave it a quick stir and popped in the microwave on high for 90 seconds.

I like that you use the envelope to measure the amount of water you need. I think that is very handy for college students who don’t have the space to keep measuring cups and whatnot.

The smell of strawberries and oats permeated through the house. My girl came up from downstairs and commented on it but she didn’t say if she thought it was a good smell. I thought it smelled great.

The oatmeal cooked up good and hot and fluffy like microwave oats tend to do. And I’m happy to report that they didn’t boil over!

I’m not a huge microwave oat fan or an oat fan in general but I like these. They are not overwhelmingly sweet. A nice gentle oat taste. I can see myself eating these once or twice per week.

I saw a great big cup at Ross yesterday that would be perfect to fix these in. I may have to go back and get it.

Not only do these taste good but according to the package they are loaded with ALA Omega-3, made in the USA, and contain less consumer packaging waste than other brands of oatmeal.

If  you “Like” them on Facebook you can get a coupon for “buy one get one” but you have to download a coupon printer to print it out.

Calories: 130

Fat: 2 g

Sodium: 180 mg

Potassium: 90 mg

Carbs: 27 g    Sugar: 12 g

Protein: 3 g

Better Oats did not provide this product for review and the opinions above are strictly my own.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

