Finally Getting Fit

What a weekend

Posted on: August 2, 2010

The weekend has been GREAT!!

Friday night the girl and I went shopping. She had a ton of coupons for places in the mall and was spending her graduation money.  We split a plate of sweet & sour chicken for dinner and then hit the stores.  Usually every year GA has a tax-free weekend before school starts but this year they have dumped that. I guess with the State going broke and all they figure they need every penny. But all the stores pitched in and had HUGE sales.  I got a cute top from Maurice’s for about $5 each and new work-out gear from JCPenny for $8 each.  And the girl got a TON of new stuff for cheap. It was a good time. We didn’t get home until after 9PM!

I had plans to take the Izzy to the dog park on Saturday with the girl but she woke up sick. I took the pup alone. I’m going to have to do it soon enough so I might as well get used to it. We were the only ones there when we got there which is really odd. Shortly after a lady with two bigger dogs came in and a guy with 3 big dogs. Unfortunately one of his malamutes got a bit aggressive with Izzy so we had to scoot over to the small dog area.  My Izzy just does not know how to act like a dog. She’s very defensive with the whole butt sniffing things dogs do and she doesn’t like any other dog to get in her face.   While we were in the small dog area another lady came in with a bigger but older dog and joined us. Her dog Max was a real sweetheart. Part Great Dane, part something… but very understanding of Izzy.  The spent enough time together that Izzy let him get nose to nose with her for a few seconds. That is HUGE for Izzy.

We left the park and I came home and lounged ALL. DAY. LONG. I didn’t do a blasted thing but sit around and surf the internets and hang out in the Shrinking jeans ‘hood. I caught up on some blog reading and napping.  It was good.

I am now the team leader of Team Knockouts for the Down & Dirty in 30 Days challenge.  Check out the badge on the sidebar. You can click through and get to the Sisterhood of Shrinking Jeans. What a fun group!  And check out our team logo: I got up this morning and ran. Run 3 of Week 5 on the Couch to 5K program. It starts with the usual 5 minute warm up, then a 20 minute run (I ran 1.4 miles), then cool down. Of course I was still quite a ways from home so I ran another .5 mile and finished the route walking. It was so good.

After shower and breakfast I did the grocery shopping, started the laundry, worked on some CE units, surfed and read some more blogs, watched Remember The Titans with the hubs, and did a little random reading. Watching that movie has me ready for football season. I love love love some Alabama football!

My eating has been on track and I am feeling good!

Tomorrow I’m going to add the 30 day shred DVD work-outs to my non-running days. Hopefully I won’t be so sore that I can’t move or dance. That would be bad.

1 Response to "What a weekend"

Great job on the C25K program. That 20 minute run is a huge milestone! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

