Finally Getting Fit

What’s your passion?

Posted on: July 30, 2010

We all  have many passions. Many loves. Many things that we are can’t live without.

For some it’s running.

For others it’s weight lifting.

For my husband it’s football.

For me, it’s dance.

Many of you know that I belly dance. I have performed cabaret and tribal fusion. I’ve even performed a goth tribal routine once. It’s fun. The music plays to my soul. It makes me happy. I don’t know if I can ever do without it. I’ve tried and it’s hard. Music and dance keep me sane.

And nearly every year I use my dance for the better good. Nearly every year I participate in what is known as Shimmyathon to raise money for The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. This is one of the rare fundraisers where 100% of proceeds goes to the Foundation. It starts on Saturday with various dance workshops and Saturday night is the premier. The best dancers from Georgia and surrounding states entertain with American cabaret,  American Tribal Style, tribal fusion. The instructors and dancers donate their time for this great event.

Sunday is more workshops and the shimmy contest.

Cystic Fibrosis is a genetic non-curable disease. It affects the lungs. It was so long ago that children diagnosed with CF died before they reached their 20’s. Now the average life span is in the mid 30’s. We’ve done this by funding new research for new medications and therapies.

Click here to read about living with CF.

Then, click here to donate to CFF through my fundraiser page.

We’ve got two week left before Shimmyathon and I’m only 1/4 of the way to my goal.  I know times are tough and we’re all stretching dollars and pinching pennies. But someone’s breath could depend on your donation.

Thank you.

1 Response to "What’s your passion?"

I have belly dancing on my list of activities to try. I’ve never done it but always wanted to. I did polynesian dancing as a teenager for about 3 years though and LOVED it. Maybe I’ll think about taking classes in the fall. I’ll have to put it to the vote though.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

