Finally Getting Fit

Couch to 5K: Week 3 Day 3

Posted on: July 10, 2010

Getting my big o' butt off the soft comfy couch.

Today I complete Day 3 of Week 3 of the Couch to 5K training program. I’m pretty dern sure I’m not running* as far as they expect me to but I’m doing what I can do and I’m happy with it.  It was hotter than 10 hells out this morning. The temp at 7:20 AM was only 77 degrees F but the humidity was hitting 91%.  Holy wet blanket Batman! It felt like jogging through a steam room.  I wasn’t sure I would make it but really didn’t have a choice as I didn’t wear my Spibelt to carry my cellphone with me. Next time I won’t leave without it. I run through a neighboring subdivision that has lots of mature trees so there are lots of shady areas. I only hit the hot sun the last 1/2 mile or so coming back towards home.

Just around mile 1 I felt my guts start wiggling. This has never happened to me on a morning run and I don’t go far.  I don’t go fast. Rumble grumble twist.  Holy smacks. What am I going to do? No cell phone. Can’t call hubs to come get me. Rumble grumble twist… squeeze and try to go faster.  Don’t think about it… start humming to the music.  It gets better for while and then I’m trying to come up with ways to figure out how to wear a Depends underneath running shorts without the baggie diaper look. Maybe a cute little over skirt would work 🙂

The program ended up just past mile 2 and I still had a ways to go before I got home.  I did my best to keep up the run/walk intervals but I was getting slower and slower the farther I went.  Most of my run intervals after that were about 2 minutes.

I turned the corning onto my road and the sun blasted me right in the face. Thank goodness today for my BondiBand and my FosterGrant Active wear polarized shades (going old skool baybay!) . The BondiBand kept the sweat out of my eyes and the FosterGrants kept my vision intact.

I was so glad to get home from the run this morning.  I made a beeline for the bath. Oh sweet relief.

Next week starts week 4 and I’m going to be in Florida for two of those days. I honestly don’t know if I will have a safe place to run or not.

Week 4 plan:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 2-1/2 minutes)
  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

A big ol thank you to DJSteveBoy for the podrunner interval mixes. They make the time go by so quickly and make the program so easy to follow.

*Running: Jogging or taking short shuffling steps in succession to one another in an attempt to mimic running.

1 Response to "Couch to 5K: Week 3 Day 3"

Well done on the run!!!!

Leave a Reply

