Finally Getting Fit

Eggplant Parmesan

Posted on: July 7, 2010

My husband does all the cooking at our house. I’m not even gonna lie and say most. He does all except for Thanksgiving. I do that so he can watch football.

He normally makes a baked spaghetti pie with spaghetti leftovers. He calls it spagagna. It’s made pretty much like lasagna but with spaghetti noodles instead of lasagna noodles.  We live wild! Yes, we do!

But this week, I’m going anti-white. No breads, pasta, sugary crap.  Today is day 2 and it’s going okay. I don’t really miss it much and I’m saving $2 every morning by not driving through Burger King to get a ham omelet sandwich.  My going off pasta put him in a quandary about what to fix. He only fixes the spagagna because I like it. I’s not his favorite dish at all.  So I said “how about eggplant parm?”  “Sure” says he, “How do I cook it?”  So I tell him to just slice the eggplant throw the sauce on top and bake it at 350 for about 30 minutes.

Now I’m picturing this in a baking dish with a liquidy meat sauce poured over the top and baked. I get home to find the eggplant in slices on a cookie sheet with a dollop of his meat sauce on top baking.  Wow. Not at all what I pictured.  Here you have to know and  understand that his spaghetti sauce is thick. He doesn’t like a “watery” sauce. His sauce is like sloppy joe mix. But is so delicious.

We ended up cooking this for about 30 minutes, putting some 2% shredded cheddar on top and cooking for another 10 minutes. I sprinkled a little left-over garlic butter on them…

OMG!! It is soooo freaking good. I may never eat pasta again.

And he made some with just cheese and some with just Parm.

1 Response to "Eggplant Parmesan"

Yum! What a lucky girl you are that he cooks so well. I hope the rest of your week’s menus are as fabulous!

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

