Finally Getting Fit

Into the land of sugar-free

Posted on: May 23, 2010

Last Monday my girl (age 17) decided to accept my challenge to go sugar-free.  No candy, cakes, pies, ice cream.  Foods were limited to 5 grams of sugar or less. This meant she had to give up her beloved Cheerio breakfast bar.  She thought she would substitute it with Oikos Greek yogurt and on the first morning discovered that she hates the taste of Greek yogurt. Since she was running late she grabbed one of her dad’s Zone perfect bars and headed out the door.  When I got home I compared the two and was surprised to see the Zone Perfect with MORE sugar than the Cheerios bar with 15 grams of sugar.  I guess I really shouldn’t have been.

Soy Protein Nuggets (Soy Protein Isolate, Tapioca Starch, Salt), Peanut Butter Fudge (Corn Syrup, Peanut Butter, Invert Sugar, Sugar, Palm Kernel Oil, Milk Protein, Soy Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Carob Seed Gum, Salt, Natural Caramel Color, Beta-Carotene, Vanilla Extract, Peanut Oil With Other Natural Flavors), Chocolate Flavored Coating (Sugar, Fractionated Palm Kernel Oil, Cocoa Powder, Whey Powder, Nonfat Milk Powder, Soy Lecithin, Natural Vanilla Flavor), Corn Syrup, Acacia Gum, Fructose Syrup, Peanut Butter, Peanut Flour, Peanuts.

The Cheerios bar had 13 grams of sugar. 😦 We chalked this one up to learning curve. She thought she was making the healthier choice and maybe it was healthier since there is some protein in the Zone bar but I told her she shouldn’t have any more and that we would have find alternatives for her breakfast.

She was a real trooper through this whole week. It’s the last week of school for her and she had two parties at school. Most of the kids bring cookies, candy, etc to those parties. The first party she took a box of Taquitos so she would have something to eat. The second party she took bakery crescents. At both parties there were other options so she didn’t have to totally do without. She said the hardest part was going without her afternoon Dr. Pepper. I’m really proud of her for sticking with me through this.  Yesterday we went to get our mani-pedi’s.

In the pedicure chair.

Her first pedicure. She earned it.

Her pretty French tip manicure. Her toes match.

I did really well. Better than I expected to. I went back to work on Monday after having been released from the Ortho. I discovered that the Skittles dispenser now has Chicklets.  I don’t like to chew gum so this is not even a temptation for me. I satisfied any sweet cravings I had with Larabars,  (My fav is Pecan pie and has 3 ingredients. Dates, Pecans, Almonds) fruit, Greek yogurt, and plain raw nuts.  I did catch myself out and about and hungry and discovered that a 6 pack of crackers (captain wafers with peanut butter) has only 5 grams of sugar for the whole pack. It took me two days to eat it. On Saturday night (day 6) I had 1/2 cup of ice cream. I searched the frozen foods section for an ice cream with recognizable ingredients and only got the pint size.  My frugal self hated spending that much money on that little bit but the half cup was all I needed or wanted. I haven’t wanted any since then.

I will probably definitely continue on my no-sugar journey through out this week. We have the girl’s graduation party on Saturday with family coming in and I have the cake ordered from Publix. I will have a small piece. I don’t know what else we’ll be doing as the grill is busted so it’s a good thing her party plans fell through.

4 Responses to "Into the land of sugar-free"

Just want to say well done to the both of you!!!!

Hey gave you an award on my blog.

I gave you an award over at my blog. 🙂

http://bigsteps2take.blogspot.com/

yay-yeee!! I loved reading this post. You guys did good. Isn’t it a shocker when you really start to look at those darn labels??

oh crap….the grill is busted.

Leave a Reply

