Finally Getting Fit

More fairy tale stuff

Posted on: May 8, 2010

Today’s message brought to you from Notes from the Universe.

  1. Think about it as if it were already done. (Note “already done” part.)
  2. Keep showing up, doing all you can, every day, in every way, until already done. (Note “keep” part.)

For complicated cases, like when dealing with invisible, limiting beliefs, negative friends, or staring down adversity: same-same.

You’ve got it made,
The Universe


See that part about invisible limiting beliefs? Unicorns, leprechauns, and scale weight. All those things we can’t do anything about.  And yeah, scale weight fits right in there. Do you really think you can control that? BWAHAHAHAHAHA.  You can control what you shovel in your pie hole. You can control how much you sit your booty on the couch. You can control how you part your hair but you have NO CONTROL over the scale weight. Trying to hit that “magic number” on that scale is right up there with riding unicorns and catching leprechauns.

OMG! What are we going to do? We’re going to do #1 and #2 from that list right there.  I’m going to eat like I’m already thin healthy and fit. That means the bags of jelly beans get to stay in the store. That means drinking more water and less diet soda, eating more veggies and whole food.  I’m going to move my booty like I’m already thin healthy and fit.  I would rather be healthy than thin. If that means I won’t have 23″ thighs then so be it. If I can be healthy with 28″ thighs then that is what I’m going to do. For me that means 30 minutes of moderate to vigorous activity every day and 2 days that include some muscle training.

Here’s what I believe.  I believe in processes. I do not believe in unicorns and leprechauns. Maybe you do.  If so, I’ll sell you a rainbow to go with that unicorn.  The process will get me healthy. The process will help me reach my goal. If I never reach 150? So what!

My one true goal is to be healthy, flexible, active, happy. I absolutely want to grow old.  I just want to be old and active, not old and infirm.

As long as I’m moving purposely toward that goal then I am going to count myself in the winner column.  I want to run. I want to lift weights. I want to be a dancing fool. As long as I work towards those things the weight can do what it wants to do.  What do you think the body is going to do when I commit to 30 minutes of moderate to vigorous activity every day. Do you think it’s gonna stay like this? Not if I couple that movement with some good whole food healthy eating. Fruit, nuts, veggies, whole grains, good proteins. The body will use that to fuel the movement. The fat will burn off. The muscles will grow. And I will be able to move some more.

Watch out. Here I go. Catch me if you can.

1 Response to "More fairy tale stuff"

Great post! Positive thinking and visioning is the way to go in my book! This is the same philosophy as “The Secret” if you haven’t read it I highly recommend it. Also there is “The Slight Edge” which goes into the importance of the little day to day things that are key to our success in anything. The little things that are easy to do, but most don’t do because they are also easy not to do.

Leave a Reply

