Finally Getting Fit

Friday: 8 days Post-op

Posted on: April 20, 2010

Today is the post-op appointment with my surgeon. I’m pretty excited to see how it goes. I’ve got little pain and I think good range of motion. I’m sure it helps that I didn’t wait and put off the surgery. I think the folks at my work are sort of put out but that’s just too tough. I have to take care of me and I’d rather not have to be out for months trying to recover.

I’ve got decent range of motion. I can move my arm just a bit above shoulder height and out to the side but I’m not ready to return to work. I have no strength in the arm when it’s stretched out and still have to assist the arm to get it over my head.  He tells me I can go without the sling at home and sets me up for physical therapy.  I’ve been dreading the PT part only because of the guy that seems to be the “senior” therapist is such a jerk.  He and I just did not get along when I was going prior to the surgery.  So I ask for a specific therapist and am told I have to see him first.  NOT. GOING. TO. HAPPEN.  I ask if they have someone I can see that doesn’t require him to see me first.  I’m assigned to their occupational therapist who just happens to be a BELLY DANCER! Hooray for me! I’m so excited.  I start that next Wednesday and I get an excuse for work until May 17th.

After I leave there I meet the girl at the mall. She’s looking for cute white ankle strap shoes. Of course we can’t find any. 😦 Boo!

I had dance practice tonight and am really excited by how well the arm did. There were some ladies there from Central Bible Fellowship to set up for a Praise Dance conference the next day. They asked us to perform our Oriental Fan routine.  It’s very nice, very soft, very peaceful and we use silk flutter fans. The arm doesn’t want to go up too high or go to the side. I go without my sling until my arm gets tired and but that big bastard back on.  It’s good and we’re ready to go tomorrow. The plan is to perform in the sling so people will understand why that arm doesn’t raise as high and do what it’s supposed to do.

Home for ice and drugs and a good nights sleep.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

