Finally Getting Fit

2009 in Review

Posted on: December 31, 2009

Feed the spirit

“If you don’t have confidence, you’ll always find a way not to win.”
– Carl Lewis

Feed the Body 12/30/09

What I Ate Fat/Sugar Fruits: 3 Veggies: 4 Grains: 4 Meat/Dairy:3
Ham, egg, cheese, bun X X X
Chicken minestrone, orange, brussel sprouts X X X X
Banana X
Chicken burrito X XX? X
Fried Shrimp XX? X?
Banana X
Water: 3 liters

I’m not sure what happened after work. I thought I would be “good” after work. I had to go to the sports store and get some cold weather shirts for the Cto5K training and afterward I thought I’d just zip through Taco Bell for one of their fresco burritos.  The Fresco line is supposed to be their new “diet” menu.  If by diet they mean loaded with onions and hot sauce then they hit the nail on the head.  I ended up eating most of the burrito before I just had to put it down.  It left me completely dissatisfied. I had been craving shrimp for over a week so after I got back into I drove the local chain of the Cap’n and got a fried shrimp dinner. I ate all the shrimp and threw the rest of it out.  They were delicious down to the last one. Hopefully that craving is done with now and I can move on.

2009 started with me joining Transformation.com.  I did really good until about 15 weeks out. I had lost 16 pounds and was going strong and then… I don’t know. I have no idea what happened but I just wasn’t giving it my all and I lost interest, became depressed. I gained the 16 pounds back with 5 more on top of it.  So at the start of November I decided I just couldn’t stay like that. So I grabbed my bootstraps and started pulling.  I’m happy to say that I have ended the year 1 pound less than I started the year.  It’s not huge but it’s steps in the right direction and that’s what I want to be about. Doing the right thing regardless of the results.

That will be the last time I step on the scale. I’m giving it up. I’m going to use my fitness goals which include running a 5K, bellydancing, clogging, and I think I’m going to add proficiency with lunge jumps to the list. Those are killer!

I’m going to be out of internet range the next few days so let me wish you now a:

1 Response to "2009 in Review"

Happy New Year!

And sometimes you just have to satisfy that craving, not substitutions.

Leave a Reply

