Finally Getting Fit

Getting My Act Together

Posted on: December 26, 2009

So yesterday was Christmas and looked like this in my house.

We don’t celebrate Christmas in a huge way.  Our families all live in other states and we quit trying to do the whole visit everyone in a weekend thing a long time ago. When the kids were little we wanted Christmas in OUR house, not grandma’s. And buying presents for every brother, sister, niece, and nephew just got too expensive and I won’t even mention how many gifts I bought for them that they OBVIOUSLY didn’t like and I’m sure promptly exchanged at the local hell-mart. So we spend a quite day at home, just the 4 of us. In years past I’ve always cooked waffles for breakfast but no one seemed interested this year so I left the masses to fend for themselves before we opened our gifts. Then every one just wondered off with their new treasures to read, watch movies, or play video games.  Christmas dinner for the last 3 or 4 years… Chinese food.  It’s so much easier than the big traditional turkey/ham dinner feast.

I sat down and created a format for my daily goals and journal.

Feed and Condition the Spirit

Begin — to begin is half the work, let half still remain; again begin this, and thou wilt have finished.
– Decimus Magnus Ausonius

Feed the Body

12/25/09

1- Orange

2- Ritz crackers

Roast Pork Roast

7 layer salad

Cubed cantaloupe

2- cookies

Chinese Supper: Sweet & Sour Chicken, white rice, chicken lo-Mein, Spicy General’s Chicken

Lemon Dessert Pizza

Condition the Body

12/25/09

20 minute Wii Active. Day 1 of 30 day challenge

Then I sat down and went through one of the practice test for the phlebotomy certification that I’m trying to get.  The first one I took was a comprehensive exam and I made a 70%. FAIL.  This one was on lab past/present and healthcare management and I got 81% on it. Not bad but I’ve got a lot of review to do before Jan 12. I’ll do another section or two today.

I visited a lot of blogs and swept through Transformation.com.  I love reading fitness blogs but I know if I get too many on my blog-roll then I’ll sit here and read and I won’t go work-out. 😦 That’s just pathetic but past experiences tell me that’s exactly what I’ll do.

I’ve already hit the Wii Active this morning. Day 2 of the 30 day challenge was a 23 minute workout focusing on uni-lateral conditioning and then I did all the “dance” exercises. 15 minutes worth.  “Dance” because it’s only dance if by dance you mean standing in place waving your arms about.  The one thing I am NOT liking about the Wii Active is that there is no built in stretching exercises at the ends of the work-outs. They just stop. So of course, I just stop.  Starting tomorrow I’ll have to remember to move to the Wii Fit Plus after the Wii Fit Active so I can do some of the yoga exercises.

1 Response to "Getting My Act Together"

Hope youre enjoying your new game!

Leave a Reply

