Finally Getting Fit

I’m making my list and checking it twice

Posted on: December 24, 2009

Gray, over at Five Full Plates, is starting the Mayo Clinic Diet in January. All the ladies over there will begin a plan to lose 10 pounds in 10 weeks on January 1.  I’m still trying to just not gain any weight through the holidays. I have a trip to my Mother’s and my Mother-in-law’s house soon and I have to be ready for that.  My first official weigh-in for 2010 will be on Jan 4.

But I need a plan. I do not do so good if I jump into these things all willy-nilly. And I am good at planning. So very good at planning and organizing and setting-up.  I am not so good at executing. Have you noticed? You have? Hmmm. Oh-kay. Moving along to the plan.  I’m looking at the Mayo Clinic Diet and I’m liking very much what I’m looking at. Lots of fruits and veggies, moderate grains and meat. Little fat and sugar. Gray has posted three lists of things that she 1) should do, 2) that she should not do, and 3) that she can do if she wants to. I LIKE IT! I think I’ll give it a shot.

Like Gray, making lists makes me happy. It satisfies some OCD part of me that wants to get things done in an organized way.  It does mess me up a bit though if my handwriting changes half-way through the list making.  I wonder if I can put the list on my phone. It’s not a smart phone like the iPhone but it’s not sitting in the back of the class sleeping on it’s desk either. I’ll have to check on that.

So here’s the big broad list of things I need/want/am gonna work on doing.

5 habits to form

1) Eat a healthy breakfast AT HOME. Right now I eat breakfast in the car as I drive to work.  It’s nutritional value is suspect as it comes from a restaurant with a drive-up window delivered in a paper bag. I so deserve better than that.

2) Eat 7. According to my personalized pyramid plan I need 3 servings of fruits and 4 servings of veggies every day. That’s a lot for a gal that will mostly eat 2 per day. 3 if I’m lucky.

3) Add whole grains. My pyramid tells me that I need 4 servings of whole grains every day. I’m not a big grain eater. I’d rather eat the grass. But wait does that count as a grain or a veggie?  If I have oatmeal at breakfast and sandwich at lunch then I might can do this. I do like a good whole wheat/low carb tortilla… Yeah, I can do this one.

4) Write it down. I’m hoping my honor student cellular will assist me in making the list of every day moves and ingestables.  I have an account over at fit day that I love but haven’t used in two weeks. This I can do. I ❤ lists.

5) Exercise. Exercise is not the same as physical activity. I am physically active. I work a job where I do not sit down except during the lunch break. I am up and down the hallway, up and down the stairs, and my butt and belly is still too big. Exercise is the structured and repetitive form of physical activity performed to enhance your fitness level. My goal: 30-45 minutes 5 days per week.

Habits to break

1) No more eating in the car. I do this all the time. I know it’s a very bad habit. It’s distracting to the task of driving and it’s something that I do automatically.  It’s easy to polish off a bag of jelly beans or granola clusters or whatever as I’m going about my commute.

2) No more snacking in front of the tv. See above. Replace sofa for car.

3) Limit Meat/Dairy/Sugar. This certainly isn’t the Atkins diet.  3 servings of meat and dairy per day and limit sugar to 75 calories.  PIECE OF CAKE.  Not really. This will be hard. I am a carnivore to the bone. I love meat. And sugar is my BFF.

So this is the starting line for the 2010 race. I’m pretty much guaranteed to go off course. I need YOU to help push me back toward the road when you see me veering into the bushes.

Leave a Reply

