Finally Getting Fit

Why does holiday food have to be so fattening?

Posted on: December 9, 2009

At work today we had our holiday meal. The “traditional meal” if you live in the south. Turkey, ham, dressing, mac and cheese, collards, green beans, corn bread, rolls, sweet tea, and ten thousand desserts.

For someone who is trying to end the year with a little weight lost and not gained this was near impossible. I had two slices of turkey of which I scraped the boiled egg laden gravy off of and the green beans. No dessert. I did have a medium sweet tea.  I asked the cafeteria manager if they had any sugar free desserts and he looked at me like I had grown an extra head. Then I asked “what are the diabetic employees supposed to do?”  He pulled out a little notebook and told me he was taking notes to make next years dinner even better 🙂  Win One for HEALTH.

Then I had people asking me where was the rest of my food. Why didn’t I get the whole meal? That’s what the free lunch ticket was for. Why waste it?  And I was told “no one diets between Dec 1 and Dec 30. I told them I do.

The truth is I am damn near miserable at this body weight and I don’t want to wait until Jan 1 to do something.

Today was supposed to be free day (Body for Life) though and I had forgotten. When I got home we had Hawaiian BBQ chicken pizza from Papa John’s. That is some good stuff!!!

I’m using FitDay free to log my food and exercise and I came out today under 2000 calories so I’m good with that.

fat 34%, carbs 47%, protein 19%  I have got to get that protein number up there!

Tomorrow is run/walk day 2 of the Couch to 5K.  It will be cold and wet and dark but I’m going to do it.

Disclaimer: I do not get anything if you click through the links. No money, no prizes, no recognition. I put them there for your surfing/clicking pleasure 🙂

Leave a Reply

