Finally Getting Fit

Day 1

Posted on: December 8, 2009

Wow.  Look at that. Day 1.

Day. One.

It’s all shiny and new and I get to do whatever I want to with it.

So here’s what I did. Be prepared to be enthralled bored.

Today I planned to hit the road and complete Day 1 of Week 1 of the Couch to 5K training.  Yep, that’s what I planned. Waking up at 2 AM almost put that plan in the gutter.  I couldn’t believe it. Wide awake at 2AM. Arg. Why? When I have finally made up my mind to do something about this fat butt am I awake when I should be sleeping? Maybe it was the excitement of it all. I don’t know. I did manage to fall back asleep sometime after 2:40-ish and woke up just before 6.

I dressed for my run right off the bat. Under Armour leggings under work-out pants. Sports bra, t-shirt, sweat shirt, thin socks, and Asics running shoes. I figure if I’m dressed for it then I will do it.  I sat down at the computer, checked my email, checked my Facebook, grabbed my earmuffs, and mp3 and HIT THE ROAD.  (I see those earmuffs are on sale! I paid the full $19.99 in the store. They are fabulous by the way. They fit around the back of the head and are snug without being too tight.)

I did it y’all. I used the interval podcast from DJSteveBoy and did the whole thing. I started out with my volume a little low on the MP3 and I missed the first chime so I started out by running the 90 second interval and walking the 60 second interval. It didn’t take me long to figure out my mistake. I zipped shuffled down a subdivision lane so I could run on the asphalt rather than the concrete sidwalk. I went to the first dead end, turned around and headed home. I was nearly home when the program ended. I hit the next button to get some music to take me the rest of the way home and what should it be but TOO LEGIT TO QUIT.  I thought HELL YEAH! I AM TOO LEGIT TO QUIT. I CAN DO THIS.  It felt soooooooooooo good. I was covered in sweat and dancing like Rocky Balboa up the driveway.

We all know that exercise and movement is just one part of the equation. There’s what we shove in our mouths.

Pre-run: Banana

Meal 1: DD eggwhite veggie flatbread, small mocha coolatta w/skim milk

Meal 2: 3 oz roast beef, shredded lettuce, 1 slice 2% american cheese, cucumber dill dressing (I left my wrap at home), Jello Mousse Temptations

Meal 3: 1 Orange, 11 Almonds

Meal 4: 3.1 oz chicken breast, 1/4 cup salsa, 1 low-carb low fat tortilla, 1/4 C 2% shredded cheddar, Jello Mousse Temptations, 1 chocolate chip cookie.

Beverages for the day include coffee, water, mostly diet coke.

Total
1,368 calories
42% Carbs, 33% Fat, 25% Protein

Today?  WIN

1 Response to "Day 1"

You can do it! I started running with the C25K program in April of 2008. It got me going and now I regularly run races. Just take it slow and if you need to repeat days or weeks, it’s okay.

Leave a Reply

Debra ~ Getting healthy from the inside out.

The Starting Line

November 2, 2009 Weight: 202.6 lbs BMI 37.28

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Hang-out

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

Challenges

 photo doing-the-w30-IG_zps3ae8c8dd.jpg

Shrink Yo' Self in 2012

May Your Way Challenge

Spring In2 Action

Photobucket

Shrinkvivor Exile Island Member!

Shrinkvivor Challenge at the Sisterhood!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I run with the Sisterhood

The Woman Challenge - May 9 - July 3, 2010 - womenshealth.gov

Losers Hall of Fame 8/4/10 -3.5lbs

