Finally Getting Fit

Whole30 Day 1- Part Deaux

Posted on: January 6, 2014

Happy Day 6 to you!

Today was my restart on the Whole30.  A pretty good day and I have to say I am feeling like a rock star.  A motha-furkin’ rock star.

AM: collard greens, 2 eggs, coconut coffee

Lunch: raw cabbage, pork chop, Sunshine Sauce, clementine, a bit of leftover broccoli

Snack: Avocado, boiled egg, raw nuts.

I’m lucky enough to be a butcher’s daughter. I called Dad today to find out what he used to put in meat before he tossed it in the smoke house.  I KNOW he smoked with hickory and on smoke day you could smell the deliciousness all over town.  (Yes, a butcher plant nearly smack in the middle of town. It was awesome!)  He said he used salt and Prague’s mix.  I looked it up.  No sugar.   He did say the mix he used for sausage probably did have sugar in it.  He used Legg’s sausage seasoning, mild and/or hot depending on what the customer wanted.    When I told him why I was asking he laughed at me.  “Well of course they put sugar in it. Makes it taste better and  helps it turn brown when you cook it.”

That’s my dad.   Love him to death.

2 Responses to "Whole30 Day 1- Part Deaux"

Good job on second day one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 478 other followers

